Brownie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This was a great old-fashioned frosting! It worked fine to use confectioner's sugar (what I had on hand) I also used 1/3c chocolate chips, 1/3c peanut butter chips & 1/3c toffee pieces in place of 1 cup chocolate chips. The peanut butter chips melted differently than the chocolate, so I threw in 2 tbs peanut butter as well. It suited my needs perfectly, and I could tell it'd make a great chocolate frosting (as intended in the original recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TechKat
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I must admit that I used this recipe to frost two 8" layers of golden cake instead of brownies. It was a simple and delicious recipe! I followed it as written to rave reviews~ thanks! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This a perfect, and since it is liquid when you pour it on the brownies, it evens out the pan if one side of brownies are shorter than the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This is crazy good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBAMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This is a thick, glossy, fudge-like frosting, perfect, I agree, for brownies, though I used it to frost My Mom's Chocolate Cake, also from this site. I prepared this exactly as written and found both the ingredients and the directions to be spot on. Hubs called this frosting a cross between a truffle and fudge. I just call it darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
The perfect quick and easy frosting to give boxed brownies a home made taste! I will use this recipe over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I used this for cupcakes, but it was a little thin. The taste was outstanding though, and it does thicken after sitting, so I can see why it's the perfect brownie frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is our favorite brownie frosting recipe. I have been making this all my life but I usually use brown sugar instead of white. Nice flavor. Make sure that you do not cook anymore than the stated time or less or it gets hard and grainy. Use chocolate chips. I usually use Ghiradardelli chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I made exactly as shown but I found it to be too much icing for a 9 by 13 inch pan of brownies. I think next time I will half the recipe. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I made exacly as shown too.......next time I will half the recipe for a 9x13 pan. I used it on the Black Magic cake recipe from this site.........so good........I don't even want to think of the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 293) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States