Brownie Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This is a thick, glossy, fudge-like frosting, perfect, I agree, for brownies, though I used it to frost My Mom's Chocolate Cake, also from this site. I prepared this exactly as written and found both the ingredients and the directions to be spot on. Hubs called this frosting a cross between a truffle and fudge. I just call it darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I submitted this recipe and I cannot stress enough how you need to make sure it is boiling properly and for the time specified. Also, the frosting won't separate from the brownie if you put it on when the brownies are still warm. My habit with making this is to put all the ingredients into the pot that need to boil together while the brownies bake. I also put the cup of chocolate chips in the measuring cup and add the splash of vanilla (otherwise I forget it) to that cup. As soon as I mix in the chocolate chips, I pour it over the brownies. I never have problems with separation. It amazes me the ways people have used this frosting and the variations they have found work for them. I can honestly say it never occurred to me to use this on anything other than brownies, and my Mom was equally shocked when I told her people use it on other things! Thanks for giving ME ideas for ways to use this. I do have a friend who refers to the brownies I make with this frosting as "brudge" -- a combination of brownie and fudge. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Holy cow! Fudge on top of brownies. How much better could it get? This frosting is like a light, fluffy, melt-in-your-mouth fudge. The word I would use to describe it is "confection." I missed the part where it said that it frosts a 9x13 inch pan of brownies, and used it to frost an 8x8 inch pan. Whoopsie, my bad! Ok not really, I love frosting.....Anyways, follow the recipe to a tee and you will be delighted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Appropriate recipe re-naming? Chocolate Brownie CRAAAAAAACK. Awesome. Really awesome. And not only is this recipe awesome, it's really easy. Not that you could make a great brownie better but this totally does it. CRACK, I tells ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
A nice rich frosting, I used it to frost eclairs. I made 1.5 times the recipe for a 9x13. The chocolate chips didn't entirely melt but that gave it a nice slight crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This was a great old-fashioned frosting! It worked fine to use confectioner's sugar (what I had on hand) I also used 1/3c chocolate chips, 1/3c peanut butter chips & 1/3c toffee pieces in place of 1 cup chocolate chips. The peanut butter chips melted differently than the chocolate, so I threw in 2 tbs peanut butter as well. It suited my needs perfectly, and I could tell it'd make a great chocolate frosting (as intended in the original recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TechKat
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is the *perfect* frosting for brownies! Thick, fudgey, and wonderful. The husband and kids raved about it. It does set up thick like fudge which is what I was looking for. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfectly smooth. I poured it over brownies in a 9x13 pan - will definately be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwinsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I must admit that I used this recipe to frost two 8" layers of golden cake instead of brownies. It was a simple and delicious recipe! I followed it as written to rave reviews~ thanks! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I'm not a religious gal - but I said a little prayer after eating this miracle of a frosting. I bet it could make anything taste fabulous... Make sure to work fast though - pour and frost quickly - as I found it started to set as soon as it was out of the pot. Make exactly as the recipe says. I used 'special' dark chocolate chips because I love dark chocolate, but as other reviewers have said, anything will work. Praise the chocolate gods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahSweets
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
MMMMmmmmm... no words sum this up, mmm. there was way to much frosting and I couldn't smother that poor pan of brownies anymore so I had to end up eating all the leftovers, let's just say with a guilty conscious I'll be in baggy sweats and eating like a rabbit for the next 24 hours, totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States