Brownie Crackles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bskinner51207
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I gave this recipe 4 stars because as written, I dont feel like it works. Ive made this recipe several times now. Both as written, and also with adding extra flour as other reviewers suggested. I dont double the flour like many other reviewers do, but I do add at least 50% more. I made a batch of these today and realized I had bought the wrong size mix (18.3 instead of 19.8) but went ahead and mixed the ingredients as stated in the original recipe and then added about 1/2 cup more flour. It wont be thick like regular cookie dough, but dont panic, you will be able to work with the dough. I spoon balls of dough into a bowl of powdered sugar and scoop sugar on top and around the balls. Once its coated in the sugar you can pick it up with your fingers (although you have to be careful as the doughs not horribly thick remember). Bake them towards the lower end of the time (8-9 mins) and then let them finish cooking/setting on the pan for a minute or two before removing them to cool. This makes them perfect. Chewy on the outside, soft on the inside. These are also fabulous either with or without chocolate chips. Delicious cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bskinner51207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Le Claire, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
We make these every Christmas...kids call them "snowballs"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimsgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, and these did not turn out as expected. The dough tasted heavenly, but once they were baked they were pretty bland and too hard for my taste. If you like a soft, chewy cookie (similar to a brownie) this is not the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
They were very thin and just wouldn't cook. I had them in the oven for 20 minutes and they were still just a pile of goo when I tried to take them off the pan. Possibly it's because companies are making boxes smaller since this recipe was originally posted pre-recession. My brownie mix was only 17.4 ounces, as opposed to the 19.8 oz mix listed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Really yummy. A bit messy to make but worth it in the end. They flattened more than I expected while baking so not sure if I did something wrong. Still, definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
My son is a big chocolate lover and these are his favorite cookies! I make them exactly as written in the recipe but refrigerate the dough for about an hour before scooping. The dough is still very soft so I drop the cookies directly from my scoop into the dish of powdered sugar. Once coated with the sugar, they are very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
These cookies are so delicious and easy to make. They were the hit at Cookies with Santa event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
A big hit! Made according to recipe. I did put the batter into the refrigerator for a little while and I did take the suggestions for using my pampered chef small scoop to make them. Also suggested was to put the powdered suger in a pie plate, add numerous balls and coat & roll with a spoon. Worked perfectly; mess was no more than any other cookie recipe. I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
i followed the recipe to a T and these did not come out well. the dough seemed too thin and sure enough while baking they spread out like crazy and were totally flat. Also a tablespoon is too big because you get these pancake looking cookies. They taste OK but way worse than regular brownies. They are too flat, dry and chewy in that over-baked way (even though i didn't). I would recommend not wasting the brownie mix and just sticking to normal brownies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I used the Ghiradelli Brownie mix. It was VERY moist and hard to mix. I would say you either need to make it in advance and let the dough sit in the fridge for a few hours or add a lot more flour. I added more flour since I made these right before I needed to bring them. They were okay, the whole prep thing was frustrating though because it was so sticky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States