Brownie Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I feel like the texture of this cheesecake was strange. I am attributing it to the condensed milk. I usually love cheesecake, but ended up throwing half of this away because it wasn't worth the calories to eat something so mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Followed recipe exactly at written. It was just OK, didn't have any wow factor like a cheesecake should. Wasn't bad, just not worth making again. There are a lot of better ones out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tmtaylor
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Very good!! I followed the exact receipe and it turned out great!!! Very rich and oh so decilious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neosho, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This was my first attempt at a cheesecake. It was absolutely amazing. Very rich yet tasty. I tossed the chocolate chips in flour as recommended by other reviews. My mother in law even said this tops any dessert she's ever made. Thanks for making me look like a great baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Just a little tip. If you don't want the chocolate chips to sink to the bottom and want them to be visible throughout the cream cheese layer, toss them in a bit of flour or cornstarch before folding into the batter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ven8zia
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made this cheesecake in a Dutch oven on a campout (see photo). It was a complete hit. The only changes I made were: using a different brand of brownie mix, mixing the mini chips with a little flour as suggested by another reviewer, and adding a topping of sour cream mixed with a little vanilla and sugar. For anyone interested, here's what I did: I mixed the cheesecake batter at home because I wasn't going to have a mixer at the campground. At camp I made the brownie mix and poured it in the bottom of a 12" Dutch oven (with feet - important!) lined with a parchment paper liner trimmed to fit the oven. I baked the brownie part for about 45 minutes with 7 coals on EACH the bottom and the top. I then let the brownie cool for a little bit while I mixed the flour-coated chips into the cheesecake batter and got some more coals going. I poured the cheesecake batter over the brownie crust and baked that for about an hour (started checking it at about 50 min.), this time with 6 coals on the bottom and 8 or 9 on top. At about 40 minutes I had to add a few more coals to the top (but none to the bottom, as I didn't want the brownie to burn). When the cheesecake was set I removed it from the coals and set it aside to cool with the lid slightly ajar, for about 45 minutes. At that point I put on the sour cream topping, sprinkled the top with more mini chips, and placed the whole (now cool) Dutch oven in a cooler with ice. I let it chill in there for a couple of hours before serving. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ven8zia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Made this for Easter... It was a HUGE hit!! I used a Ghiradelli Double Chocolate brownie mix which I pressed down with the bottom of a glass tumbler while it was still warm (it didn't compress much but I think the little bit of space gained was needed). All other ingredients used were per the given recipe. I took a few hints from other reviews and coated the chocolate chips with flour before adding. I also put a bowl of water in the oven a few minutes before adding the cheesecake, baked 50 mins then turned the oven off and propped the oven door open leaving the cheesecake in the oven for another 50-60 mins. It was PERFECT!!!! It was easy to make, done perfectly, beautiful and delicious!!! I did not garnish as my family was too impatient to wait for that once I pulled it out after Easter dinner! Hahaha Everyone LOVED this and said it is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This was my first baked cheesecake and it was delicious. Thanks to other reviewers for suggesting a pan of water in the oven with it and for coating the chocolate chips in flour to keep them from sinking. I added peanut butter to the brownie mix (didn't really measure but probably about 4 tbsp and used less oil since the peanut butter has plenty of oil in it) and I also made a glaze to drizzle over top by melting about 1/4 cup of chocolate chips with a few tbsp of peanut butter in the microwave. It was so good but very rich so you only need a very small slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Very very yummy. Did as one person said and put a pan of watee in the oven too on a seperate rack. Came out perfect and I've never even baked a cheesecake until trying this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgoodwin91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was my first cheesecake. I made cheesecake cupcakes and cheesecake bars before, but never the real deal. It turned out great. I did increase the cook time by 15 minutes. This may have been unnecessary, but the middle was just too gooey-looking. Also, I cracked the oven door and left it in there for 30 more, the top cracked a little, but tasted perfect, maybe a tad bit dry; that is probably my fault for altering the cook times. I used more chocolate chips and mixed them with a little flour, and they did not settle at the bottom. Also, I doubled the chocolate chips and put some on top right before baking. I used Gihardelli brownies and undercooked them by 10 minutes (28 min) since I was afraid of a super tough crust. This worked out well. I topped it with peanut butter sauce, hot fudge and whipped cream. I'm glad I tried this simple recipe; I'm ready to put my springform pan to use making all kinds of cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States