Brownie Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Just a little tip. If you don't want the chocolate chips to sink to the bottom and want them to be visible throughout the cream cheese layer, toss them in a bit of flour or cornstarch before folding into the batter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ven8zia
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made this cheesecake in a Dutch oven on a campout (see photo). It was a complete hit. The only changes I made were: using a different brand of brownie mix, mixing the mini chips with a little flour as suggested by another reviewer, and adding a topping of sour cream mixed with a little vanilla and sugar. For anyone interested, here's what I did: I mixed the cheesecake batter at home because I wasn't going to have a mixer at the campground. At camp I made the brownie mix and poured it in the bottom of a 12" Dutch oven (with feet - important!) lined with a parchment paper liner trimmed to fit the oven. I baked the brownie part for about 45 minutes with 7 coals on EACH the bottom and the top. I then let the brownie cool for a little bit while I mixed the flour-coated chips into the cheesecake batter and got some more coals going. I poured the cheesecake batter over the brownie crust and baked that for about an hour (started checking it at about 50 min.), this time with 6 coals on the bottom and 8 or 9 on top. At about 40 minutes I had to add a few more coals to the top (but none to the bottom, as I didn't want the brownie to burn). When the cheesecake was set I removed it from the coals and set it aside to cool with the lid slightly ajar, for about 45 minutes. At that point I put on the sour cream topping, sprinkled the top with more mini chips, and placed the whole (now cool) Dutch oven in a cooler with ice. I let it chill in there for a couple of hours before serving. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ven8zia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Made this for Easter... It was a HUGE hit!! I used a Ghiradelli Double Chocolate brownie mix which I pressed down with the bottom of a glass tumbler while it was still warm (it didn't compress much but I think the little bit of space gained was needed). All other ingredients used were per the given recipe. I took a few hints from other reviews and coated the chocolate chips with flour before adding. I also put a bowl of water in the oven a few minutes before adding the cheesecake, baked 50 mins then turned the oven off and propped the oven door open leaving the cheesecake in the oven for another 50-60 mins. It was PERFECT!!!! It was easy to make, done perfectly, beautiful and delicious!!! I did not garnish as my family was too impatient to wait for that once I pulled it out after Easter dinner! Hahaha Everyone LOVED this and said it is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This was my first baked cheesecake and it was delicious. Thanks to other reviewers for suggesting a pan of water in the oven with it and for coating the chocolate chips in flour to keep them from sinking. I added peanut butter to the brownie mix (didn't really measure but probably about 4 tbsp and used less oil since the peanut butter has plenty of oil in it) and I also made a glaze to drizzle over top by melting about 1/4 cup of chocolate chips with a few tbsp of peanut butter in the microwave. It was so good but very rich so you only need a very small slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Very very yummy. Did as one person said and put a pan of watee in the oven too on a seperate rack. Came out perfect and I've never even baked a cheesecake until trying this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgoodwin91

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was my first cheesecake. I made cheesecake cupcakes and cheesecake bars before, but never the real deal. It turned out great. I did increase the cook time by 15 minutes. This may have been unnecessary, but the middle was just too gooey-looking. Also, I cracked the oven door and left it in there for 30 more, the top cracked a little, but tasted perfect, maybe a tad bit dry; that is probably my fault for altering the cook times. I used more chocolate chips and mixed them with a little flour, and they did not settle at the bottom. Also, I doubled the chocolate chips and put some on top right before baking. I used Gihardelli brownies and undercooked them by 10 minutes (28 min) since I was afraid of a super tough crust. This worked out well. I topped it with peanut butter sauce, hot fudge and whipped cream. I'm glad I tried this simple recipe; I'm ready to put my springform pan to use making all kinds of cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Great idea. I think mine would have turned out ok if the water bath hadn't soaked into both the crust and cream cheese. I did the aluminum foil trick which worked in the past, but even with two layers of foil, no such luck tonight. Why, oh why, Cheesecake Gods, hath you forsaken me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I made this recipe in a 9x13 glass dish with a normal brownie mix and made it exactly as written and it was FABULOUS!!!!! So easy. I didn't need a pan of water in the oven. It didn't crack at all. It came out perfectly and was absolutely delicious!!!!! My daughter is already asking me to make it again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I'm not a fan of cheesecake so I really liked the brownie addition. Husband liked it quite a bit. To me there are better cheesecake recipes out there. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by destiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dragonrus
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I fix cheesecakes all the time and this one is super easy and delicious. A few tips use a 10" springform pan, use a creative brownie mix (not just plain brownies), bake the brownies 5-7 minutes less that way you can bake the cheesecake 5-10 longer and fold the chocolate chips instead of stirring. I garnished mine with chocolate cool ehip and chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States