Brownie Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by karinschis
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Great recipe! Pretty much followed it to a T, but floured the choco chips as several recommended so they wouldn't sink. I did have to cook the cake a little longer then the recipe suggested. The sweetened condensed milk adds lots of sweetness to it, which is why sugar isn't an ingredient in this recipe. Had no problems with the cake cracking and did not use a water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Made by my 10 year old daughter. A few instructions are lacking that would have helped: 1) state in parentheses "not family size" when listing brownie mix. I realize it states size by ounces but based on reviews, she's not the only one who missed that. 2) somewhere state that the "prepared pan" includes the brownie in it. 3) if there is frosting in the picture, include in the recipe. She was a bit disappointed. It did turn out to be a fun family dessert and a teaching moment of why we practice recipes prior to inviting guests, which we will do next time. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I feel like the texture of this cheesecake was strange. I am attributing it to the condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Followed recipe exactly at written. It was just OK, didn't have any wow factor like a cheesecake should. Wasn't bad, just not worth making again. There are a lot of better ones out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tmtaylor
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Very good!! I followed the exact receipe and it turned out great!!! Very rich and oh so decilious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neosho, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This was my first attempt at a cheesecake. It was absolutely amazing. Very rich yet tasty. I tossed the chocolate chips in flour as recommended by other reviews. My mother in law even said this tops any dessert she's ever made. Thanks for making me look like a great baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Just a little tip. If you don't want the chocolate chips to sink to the bottom and want them to be visible throughout the cream cheese layer, toss them in a bit of flour or cornstarch before folding into the batter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ven8zia
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made this cheesecake in a Dutch oven on a campout (see photo). It was a complete hit. The only changes I made were: using a different brand of brownie mix, mixing the mini chips with a little flour as suggested by another reviewer, and adding a topping of sour cream mixed with a little vanilla and sugar. For anyone interested, here's what I did: I mixed the cheesecake batter at home because I wasn't going to have a mixer at the campground. At camp I made the brownie mix and poured it in the bottom of a 12" Dutch oven (with feet - important!) lined with a parchment paper liner trimmed to fit the oven. I baked the brownie part for about 45 minutes with 7 coals on EACH the bottom and the top. I then let the brownie cool for a little bit while I mixed the flour-coated chips into the cheesecake batter and got some more coals going. I poured the cheesecake batter over the brownie crust and baked that for about an hour (started checking it at about 50 min.), this time with 6 coals on the bottom and 8 or 9 on top. At about 40 minutes I had to add a few more coals to the top (but none to the bottom, as I didn't want the brownie to burn). When the cheesecake was set I removed it from the coals and set it aside to cool with the lid slightly ajar, for about 45 minutes. At that point I put on the sour cream topping, sprinkled the top with more mini chips, and placed the whole (now cool) Dutch oven in a cooler with ice. I let it chill in there for a couple of hours before serving. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ven8zia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Made this for Easter... It was a HUGE hit!! I used a Ghiradelli Double Chocolate brownie mix which I pressed down with the bottom of a glass tumbler while it was still warm (it didn't compress much but I think the little bit of space gained was needed). All other ingredients used were per the given recipe. I took a few hints from other reviews and coated the chocolate chips with flour before adding. I also put a bowl of water in the oven a few minutes before adding the cheesecake, baked 50 mins then turned the oven off and propped the oven door open leaving the cheesecake in the oven for another 50-60 mins. It was PERFECT!!!! It was easy to make, done perfectly, beautiful and delicious!!! I did not garnish as my family was too impatient to wait for that once I pulled it out after Easter dinner! Hahaha Everyone LOVED this and said it is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This was my first baked cheesecake and it was delicious. Thanks to other reviewers for suggesting a pan of water in the oven with it and for coating the chocolate chips in flour to keep them from sinking. I added peanut butter to the brownie mix (didn't really measure but probably about 4 tbsp and used less oil since the peanut butter has plenty of oil in it) and I also made a glaze to drizzle over top by melting about 1/4 cup of chocolate chips with a few tbsp of peanut butter in the microwave. It was so good but very rich so you only need a very small slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States