Brownie Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Super easy to make. I was requested not to add the walnuts by the kids...which was fine. The recipe turned out quite nice, baked all the way through and evenly. My kids liked them very much. I topped some of the portions with the site's Kahlua Hot Fudge Sauce recipe and was quite good. And was asked if I'd make these again. Not a bad recipe to make when you want something almost at last minute but can't decide between cheesecake or a brownie...so I say, you can have both ;-) TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was really yummy to make, I made one change by adding crushed heath bar to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pinky
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I make brownies all the time and I came across this recipe with adding cheesecake on top of it...AMAZING! I've never made cheesecake before and I was so surprised by how easy it was. My batch came out perfect, it didn't separate at all like the other reviews said. I'm not really a sweets fan but even I enjoyed it. I took it over to my uncles house and they all loved it. I can't wait for another get together so I can make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
These came out ok but since the cheesecake part takes longer to bake your brownies on the bottom get overcooked and dry. The moist cheesecake is what saved the dry brownie part. If I make this again I'll have to experiment with different things (I don't know what yet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary2011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Batesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I used a premium boxed brownie mix that I normally don't have an issue with. I used the directions for "fudge-like brownies" and they turned out cake-like. I think it may have to do with the "cheesecake" topping. Speaking of the topping, I did NOT care for it. It didn't taste like cream cheese at all, just some sort of hopped up sweetened condensed milk that had solidified. It wasn't disgusting, it was certainly edible. But I think that I will continue to search for other recipes that have an authentic "cheesecake" layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I used a 9x13 glass pan and 325-degree overn. I made the cream cheese portion first so it could be added immediately once the brownie batter was ready (I used the cake-style version with 3 eggs). thinking this might prevent the separation some reviewers mentioned. I didn't have the chocolate topping, so 25 minutes into the baking time, I added a sour cream topping (1-1/2 c. sour cream, 3 tbsp sugar, 1 tsp vanilla) and returned it to bake 10 more minute. I then turned off the oven and left the door closed as another reviewer mentioned. The brownie center was set, without the edges being dry. I put it in the fridge until time to serve (about 2 hours). It was a breeze to cut & remove from the baking dish, with no separation. One of the young men at church had 4 helpings & has put in a request for the next potluck, so I'm giving it a thumbs up. I would like to try it with some cherry pie filling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I don't think I will make this again. I used Hershey's fudge brownie mix, followed recipe exactly as written, and the brownies never baked up, even when I baked it for a longer time, the brownie portion was still wet. The cheesecake part was delicious, but for me this didn't come together as I thought it would. Maybe I should have started the brownies first, then added the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christiana23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Delicious! I don't like walnuts, so I left those out. And I didn't have any dessert topping, so we ate the bars without anything on top. They were still delicious! The only thing I don't like about them is that the cheesecake layer separates from the brownie layer when you try to serve them. But they still taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Really good flavor in the cheesecake portion, but this is more of a cheese cake with a too thick brownie crust, in my opinion. Or is it a brownie with too much cheesecake? Either way, the ratio of cheesecake to brownie is off. Also, the cheesecake seperates from the brownie when you're removing them from the pan the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Outstanding recipe! I cut them into bars first then added a few spoonfuls of cherry pie filling to each one. what a hit! Their taste defies the simplicity of the recipe and everyone who saw them immediately wanted to try one. Only thing to keep in mind is that a lot of people know this recipe. So if you are going to a party and want your recipe to stand out this may not be the one to choose. If all you care about is taste though you should make this recipe tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron Gregory Russo

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States