Brownie Caramel Pecan Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Native-Memphian
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
It is definitely a decadent dish. If you do not have a sweet tooth you will likely not care for this dish. Luckily, I have a sweet tooth. I made this without the nuts. It definitely needs the nuts to counter the sweet, but for various reasons - we don't do nuts in our house. I made this a second time and replaced the nuts with toffee (you canuse something like a Heath bar chopped up)it turned out fabulous. Also, the seond time I made it I used Worthers Originals caramels rather than Kraft caramels... fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Native-Memphian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Very good recipe! It seems that it would turn out extremely sweet, but it isn't too sweet at all. The perfect sweetness. I made it twice in 3 days: that's how good it is! Addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Delicious! I've been making the Baker's One Bowl Brownies for years, passed down from my Mom, but these are my new "specialty brownies"! After all was finished, these are amazing brownies, both aesthetically and "yumm-illy"! These are definitely not for those who are looking for anything less than decadence. I eyeballed a little bit more flour in the batter, for a bit more richness. Use the caramels recipe on this site for even more of a homemade taste! I cooled the brownies on the counter on a wire rack overnight. In the morning I put some wax paper on top and gently pressed the pecans into the caramel to set, then but put them in the fridge for an hour while I got ready for work, took them out and cut them into the prettiest chocolate brownie squares ever! I have to say that I was a little hesitant putting the caramel on the top while the brownies were hot, but with a little patience, it works fine- you HAVE to wait a day (or overnight) to eat these. Also, no need to line the pan. Use a non-stick pan 9" square pan and grease very well (I didn't flour either)and the brownies will come out great and very clean after refrigeration. Next time, I will drizzle the extra caramel over the top of the pecans as well. I will still stick to my classic Baker's brownies recipe because it is such a staple in my family, and it is a differnt type of brownie, both are equally as delicious, but these are great for a special calorie-laden treat. They look bakery made and taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
my family absolutely loved these brownies. I will try the carmel sauce next time. Unwrapping the caramels was time consuming, a one reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZABETHRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Very Sweet Recipe.. but that didnt stop the family from eating them all. BIG hit.. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Really tasty but very messy. Fairly easy to make, though -- the hardest part was lining the baking dish with foil, and then greasing/flouring it! The foil kept ripping on me when I tried to fit it into the baking dish, and then again while I was greasing it. But since the caramel was so messy, the foil really helped with the clean-up. It was taking forever for the butter/water/sugar mixture to come to a boil at low -- after about 20 minutes I bumped the heat up to medium. (Could be my stove though.) I discovered too late that I didn't have milk for the caramel sauce, so I used water instead, and it seemed to work fine. Also, I scattered a few butterscotch chips among the chocolate chips in the topping and then put the pecans on after that. I let it sit overnight to cool before cutting it. It was still pretty gooey the next morning, but I was able to cut it up. Good thing I had the foil in the pan -- I just lifted the entire thing out of the pan and peeled the foil away, otherwise I would probably still be trying to extricate the bars from the baking dish! But overall, a really good recipe, and not too difficult. Everyone loved them, and I will probably make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This recipe is really good, but I do have a few recommendations. I don't recommend that you use foil to line the baking pan. Just grease the baking pan with vegetable oil. Also this receipe makes too much carmel topping. I found that if you use about twelve to fifteen carmels instead of twenty five, it was more that enought to spread over the pecan bars. You can also use walnuts instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIKOT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
These cookies are soooo good. They are addictive, I couldn't stop myself, my family and I just kept eating and kept eating. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
A bit of trouble for me :) I didnt have a whole lotta patience for them to cool down a bit. Very yummy though. The guys that I made them for now bow down to me (silly guys) So I guess they liked them also :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
These are sinfully delicious. Very very rich, but that's what I like. If you don't like sweet and rich, this is not a recipe for you. Dangerous to have around because they WILL disappear. I made them per recipe.No changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States