Brownie Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Thanks to all who reviewed before me. I made this recipe into individual cheesecakes using jumbo foil muffin cups. Use a brownie mix for a 13x9 pan, follow package directions. Divide batter equally between 18 muffin cups, bake 12 minutes. Put a tablespoon of melted caramel on top of baked brownie. I used 3 pkgs of 8 oz cream cheese, 3 eggs, 2 tsps vanilla and 1/2 cup sugar. I divided the cream cheese mixture between the 18 cups and baked for 15 minutes. I let cheesecakes cool 15 minutes in pan and topped with remaining caramel. I did not use chocolate fudge sauce. It worked really well and was easy to serve being individuals. Perfect to transport if taking to a party or gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I followed suggestions of others with both brownie layer (not cooking it fully through) and the cheesecake layer (adding extra). It baked beautifully. This was the cake my daughter picked for her 13th birthday. The kids all loved it. They would give it 10 stars. However, the reason for 3 stars for me is because it is sweet. Wow. I have a major sweet tooth and love cakes and cheesecakes. This cake for me was just too sweet. I do not know if I will make it again because I cannot think of anything that will cut back. The layers were great separate, but together it was just too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I was so excited to make this.... DISASTROUS is an understatement. Brownie was undercooked...took advice of others and never fully cooked...even after 60 min, brownie was still raw, cheese cake, brownie and caramel ended up all combining together....it looked so unappetizing...leather looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
After reading the reviews I was nervous but gave it a try. Glad I did! Used the 10oz brownie mix and made according to package instructions, but only cooked 17 of the 25 minutes. I may try even less next time as the edges were too tough to eat, but the middle was perfect. I increased the cheesecake layer per other reviews. Baked with pan of water. Left in the oven after shutting heat of for an hour then on the counter for 2 hours, then the fridge. No cracks! Will definitely make again. .. and may try 13x9 brownie mix for thicker layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This was my first time making cheesecake and this one turned out really well. I would suggest reducing the amount of time for the brownie crust to cook as many other people have suggested. I added a couple splashes of milk to the reheated caramel sauce just to make it creamier to finish the top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
My Mom and son loves cheesecake so I decided to make last night. Used Duncan Hines Chewy Brownie mix and prepared as directed on package. Baked for 18 minutes. Next time I will only use 1/2 of the batter (use all the batter if you prefer a thicker crust). Let brownie and caramel mixture cool before adding. Used all of the caramel mixture and had no problem with it running over or burning, but next time will add pecans around the edge becuase I love them. Placed a large pan of water on the rack under the cheesecake and baked for 50 minutes. Chilled 4 hours in the refrigerator, ran a butter knife around the pan released spring and rim came up perfectly. Will top next time with fresh strawberries to cut some of the richness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
made as directed. The only suggestion I would make is to not spread the caramel all the way to the edges of the brownie before dumping the cheesecake mixture on it - maybe even making a moat. I found that the outside edges were quite hard and chewy due to the caramel baking to the sides of the pan. Most certainly did not see the caramel layer once cut but it was still a winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crystal
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made this for my teen daughter for her birthday. It was gone in seconds. I used a 9 inch pan and for the brownies I made the bakers chocolate one bowl brownies I always make (much better than a box). I also only pre-baked the brownies for 15 minutes and of course placed a pan of water under the cake while baking. PERFECT!!!! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Excellent recipe! I took the suggestions of most reviewers by adding an extra cream cheese package, cut out some sugar also. I refrigerated the cake overnight and it set perfectly. No oozing caramel. One of the most crowd pleasing cakes I have ever made. Very decadent. I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
If you go by the directions brownie layer will be hard and over cooked, the caramel will be too runny so when you layer the cheesecake mixture the caramel oozes up the sides and disappears into the cheesecake. Will NOT make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States