Brownie Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2004
The first time I made this recipe, I used the caramels and evaporated milk as directed. I used a standard brownie mix made according to package directions, baking it in a 10" spring form pan well coated with Pam. I baked the brownie layer for 15 to 20 minutes then sprinkled the edges with some chopped pecans to prevent the caramel layer from leaking out. I sprinkled white chocolate chips over the baked brownie crust before I spread the caramel layer on. I took the advice of others and used 3 pkg. of cream cheese, 3/4 c sugar and 3 eggs. I baked the cheesecake layer for 50 minutes. I had no problems getting it out of the pan and it was not hard to cut. It was marvelous. I decorated the top with carmel and fudge drizzles put through a pastry bag.. I just made it for the second time and used the La Lechera Caramel flavor, although it is easier, I do not think it tastes as good as caramels w/ evaporated milk. I followed all the above steps and it baked nicely. We will "taste" the second creation results on Mother's Day. This is definately a 5 Star recipe. I come from a family of professional chefs and have done the baking for our restaurant for many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I have made this cheesecake many times. Some things I have adjusted. First do not cook the brownie crust as long as it says. If you do you will not be able to cut the cake! 10 minutes works fine for me. Also because this is a bit overpowering sweet, I have made the cheesecake portion 50% bigger. 3 creamcheese, 3 eggs, 3/4 cup sugar,1 1/2 vanilla. 60 minutes in the oven (check at 50 min). Everyone I have made this for, loves it!! I even made it for a bake sale, the price was $10 BUT alot of the people there have had it before and started Bidding on it. Last bid was $38, and the money went to a great cause. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER_0617

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagler Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Haddon Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I am having issues with the brownie crust. I have made this twice and the brownie part comes out hard. According to the recipe the brownie is being cooked for 65 minutes. I think that is too long and is causing the brownie to be hard. Can some one provide me with how long the this recipe is suppose to be baked for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Taking the suggestions from other reviews, I used a 10-1/2 ounce package of brownie mix and followed the package directions. Most important, again following the advice of others, I baked the brownie layer for only 12 minutes--and it was not long enough! I wish I would have followed the recipe. Other than that, it was a delicious cheesecake, and very pretty too. I garnished it with pecan halves and used homemade hot fudge sauce. It's very rich, so small pieces are suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
The good thing about waiting to make a recipe is that you can wait until it's been tested by others and learn from their mistakes and take their suggestions. So that's what I did! Make this recipe using a large size (for 13x9) brownie mix, use La Lechera (thanks to whomever offered that suggestion. I'd never even heard of that before.), and increase the cheesecake layer by half. Bake brownie layer for 20 minutes before proceeding. This turned out wonderful! We had it for a dinner party and it was the only dessert that totally disappeared! To all of the folks who tried this recipe as written with disasterous results - try it again with these alterations and you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
This was a HUGE hit at Easter! I followed previous reviewers' advice and used the Jiffy brownie mix and baked the brownies for 10 minutes. I then made the caramel and the cream cheese filling; I wrapped the bottom of the pan in tin foil and submerged it in a pan with warm water to bake-it was fabulous! There wasn't a bite left and I had many requests for the recipe-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
INSTEAD OF A 9" PAN I USED A 7". THEN USED THE SAME AMOUNT OF INGREDIENTS. I USED A PRODUCT CALLED LaLechera by Nestle (mexican food section-looks like a sweet condensed pan--Dulce de Leche) BASICALLY IT'S CARMEL SWEETENED CONDENSED MILK. SO YOU ELIMINATE THE WHOLE CARMEL PROCESS. SLIGHTLY WARM IT TO SOFTEN IT...THEN ONLY COOK THE BROWNIE 15 MIN. SPREAD THE LaLechera ONLY TO 1/2 " FROM THE EDGE. FOLLOW THE REST OF THE DIRECTIONS. THE END RESULT IS ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS. AND NO HARD BROWNIE STORY HERE! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I read several reviews and decided to make this along with the help of a few suggestions. First I used turtle brownie mix, and baked it about 15-20 minutes, just so it looked almost done but not quite. I followed the suggestion of another by using 3 cream cheese, 3/4C sugar,1 1/2 t. vanilla & 3 eggs. I skipped making the caramel sauce completely because the brownie mix had it included. So I purchased a jar of milky way ice cream topping/sauce to drizzle on the top of each slice as it was served. Everyone was soooo impressed!! This turned out awsome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERI63MI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I have made this recipe 2 times now, and the first time was not as good as the second, I followed some tips like adding 2 tbs veg oil and that didn't help much, I also baked it for only 15 mins, it turned out burnt on the edges and to chewy to chew in the middle... the second time I made it, I followed the advice of the old standby.. Mom... Add an extra egg she says and put a pan of water in the oven with it.. So I did that along with the veg oil... and voila!!! a masterpiece... I'm a pretty good cheesecake maker ... but this one was a toughy to figure out.. definitely not for the novice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Big hit with my family! I reserved 2/3 cup of the caramel mixture instead of the 1/3 cup suggested because it would have been too rich - I'd do it again. I couldn't find an 8 oz. pkg brownie mix, so I used "Betty Crocker Smart Size" 10.25 oz, and it was just fine. I don't eat cream cheese so I didn't try this cheesecake, but everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States