Brownie Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Delicious!!! I followed KATHY A 's comments and thought it was very helpful. Thank you Kathy! and Jackie -- creator of this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Soo many different reviews to read through on this one! Of the ten-plus different boxes of brownie mix at my grocery store, none were the 9 oz. called for. So I used a 15 oz box, prepared per box instructions and poured about 2/3 of the batter in my prepared springform pan. The rest of the brownie batter went into a mini muffin pan for my little guy's lunches. I baked the crust 10 minutes instead of the given time. The other reviews that say their crust turned out hard as a rock scared me. My crust turned out just a tad gooey but I'm glad I went with the 10 minutes. The rest of the directions I followed as per instructed. Very rich, very good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Loved this recipe!! Only problem was the middle caramel layer made the cheesecake a little over the top and too rich. Maybe just having all the caramel mixture on top along with the hot fudge topping would be a little better. Overall, great for an aching sweet tooth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Incredible! I didn't have individually wrapped caramels so I just used ice cream topping and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colormekaylee
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Can you say Yumm? I'm not a huge plain cheescake person (I don't love cream cheese) but I liked this alot. It's the first cheesecake I've ever made and it came out perfect. I ate it when it was still warm, and I think ti will be alot better today because it will be set all the way. Great Recipie. Next time I might try flavoring the cheesecake itself, maybe with chocolate swirls, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colormekaylee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I just made this, and it was good but WAY too sweet and rich. Of course I expect cheesecake to be rich, but this was so sweet it hurt my teeth, and everyone had trouble finishing their pieces (which were not really that big). It would have been much better if I had used about half the amount of caramel, or even less. Instead of brownie mix, I made the brownie portion from scratch using a separate recipe for brownies. I cooked it the entire prescribed amount of time, and did not have any problem with it being too hard to cut, as did so many of the other reviewers. That being said, I chilled it overnight, so maybe that helped to put some moisture in it so that it was softer ? Although not hard, the brownie did have a sort of almost burnt taste to it (though it didn't appear burnt). So I would probably want reduce the cooking time somewhat. I still really like the idea of this recipe, and I really enjoyed making it, so I do think I will make it again but with some changes to make it not so terribly sweet. I would probably skip the caramel layer in the middle altogether, and just drizzle some caramel on top. The brownie also may have been a factor in the super-sweetness, so I might look for another brownie recipe that does not use as much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was OUTSTANDING!!! Very rich, good with a tall glass of milk! This is the first "real" cheesecake I have ever made & I was very worried about the turnout with all the reviews. I made this for my mother-in-laws surprise party & it was a huge hit! I followed Kathy's suggestions b/c I couldn't find a 9 or 10oz brownie pkg so I used one I had on hand, 22oz I think. I used a 10in springform, made my brownie according to pkg directions, baked about 15 minutes (next time I will do a little less). I used 3 pkgs of cream cheese, 3/4 cups sugar and 3 eggs. I didn't put any nuts around the edge or anything like that & the caramel didn't leak out. I was just careful to keep it away from the edge. I baked the cheesecake for 40ish minutes & it was perfect. The very bottom edge of the brownies got hard but I think reducing my initial cook time will fix that. I will definitely be making this again...and again...and again! :) Thanks for the recipe! I've been hanging on to it for nearly a year. I'm glad I finally got the courage up to give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Higginsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dixon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
NUMMY!!!! I looked at some of the reviews and made little modifications. The only issue i had was the carmal not staying down when i put the cream cheese top over it. Not a big deal tho its was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bancroft, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was ok...a little too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I was TERRIFIED to make this after reading reviews. It was either you bombed it, or it was amazing. I took into account suggestions from MANY reviews, it was AWESOME!! Here are the changes I used: Used the 10.25oz brownine pckg (made as directed per pkg as far as oil, egg and 2 tbsp water) added about 1/2 cup choc chips to help maintain mositure. Baked the brownie for only 10 mins and pulled it out, letting it cool pretty much completely. I added the caramel, which I just bought the Smuckers Caramel topping, used only about 1/2 the jar. I did add a ring of chopped pecans along the edge of the brownie, trying to keep the caramel in, some of it still spilled out. I did the 1.5 batch of cheesecake filling everyone has mentioned (2 blocks low fat, 1 block reg cheese, 3 eggs, etc). Made sure all ingredients were at room temp before I started too. Once this layer was on, baked at 350 degrees for 45 mins. I did put a 9x13 pan underneath in the oven filled with water. After the 45 mins were up I left in the oven, door closed, for another 2 hours. Then took out and let sit on counter another hour before I put in fridge. No cracks at all and was perfectly cooked (center needs to wobble at 45 mins). After cooled completely I topped with the fudge and caramel. It was AMAZING, the brownie part was very fudgey and was perfect, as was the cheesecake. The dinner guests, as well as the hubby, raved about this. Its a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States