Brownie Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This would have been fabulous if I had followed the directions. I wanted to make this, but did not have any caramels. I did; however, have a jar of caramel sauce, and figured that would be a good enough substitute. It was not. After baking the brownie crust, I poured on the sauce and noticed it coming out of the bottom of the pan. I poured the filling on and placed it on a baking sheet, hoping that some of the caramel would remain in the middle. Considering how much was burned on the baking sheet, I don't think much remained in the cheesecake. I did let it cool and then drizzled with extra caramel and chocolate. It still tastes great - just not enough caramel flavor. My fault - and I will do it right next time. For now, we will enjoy this one and just pour the caramel on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
The concept of this cheesecake is great, it did taste pretty good, but the cheesecake layer left something to be desired. I used Bombshell brownies from this site (scaled to 6 servings), and the carmel sauce was great, but the cheesecake, not so good. I'll probably try this recipe again, but using a different cheesecake recipe for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Absolutely delicious! the brownie on the bottom makes a huge difference, although there was a little too much caramel, so I'll remember to add less next time. The brownie should be baked less, according to other suggestions. However, there was too much caramel in between the two layers, and next time, i'll remember to use less. Also the brownies were a little too chewy ( and i normally love chewy brownies! but it just doesn't work as well with cheesecake). It's hard to neatly cut this and serve it, but delicious nonetheless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Made this for large family gatherings a few times. It is always a BIG hit with everyone. A little sweet but very worth the sugar rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
AMAZING! This was my first attempt at cheesecake and it was so so good. I used peanut butter brownie mix and baked it for 18 min. rather than 25. Rather than melting carmels and milk, i just used Smuckers carmel syrup, keeping it about a 1/2 inch from the edge. When I baked the cheescake I put a pan of water in the rack below to prevent cracking. When it was done baking I turned the oven off and let the cake cool in there with the door slightly ajar for about 1 hour. After that i placed it in the fridge until it was completely cool. It turned out so well and everyone loved it, I am defintely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I followed most of the suggestions by baking the crust for only 15 minutes. Instead of making the carmel mixture, I bought some carmel topping and used that instead. The layer of cream cheese right above the carmel came out a lil funny. Wish I would've followed that part of the recipe or omitted the carmel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Tastes much better on the second day. Only problem I had was caramel came out VERY runny. Tasted good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
YUM! This was a delicious dessert! Although, I didn't read the 9 oz brownie mix until I had mixed up 19 oz! (standard box). SO, I doubled te liquid ingredients and went with it. It turned out great, just a really thick chocolate crust, but how bad could that be! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made this cheesecake for my co-workers and they love it. The only thing I did different is put the brownie cheesecake in the springpan then submerge it in boiing water while it cooked. It kept the brownie moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Well, there's so many reviews about this recipe that if anybody actually falls upon reading this, I'll be so happy! I'm giving this recipe a one star, and ONLY because I think that it hasn't been tested properly. IMO there' a MAJOR MISTAKE in this recipe. Nearly everyone's complained about the caramel running out of the cake. Here's why. 5 OUNCES OF EVAPORATED MILK IS WAY TOO MUCH. That's roughly 2/3 of a cup! No wonder it oozes out! Use 1/4 cup of evaporated milk with 14 ounces of caramels. And if adding chopped pecans, add 1-1/4 cups, that will also help the caramel stay put. Also I think that this recipe should just say "9 ounces of packaged brownie mix, prepare as directed on package".... no wonder so many people have messed it up.. lol... I bet they're adding an extra egg and water to the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miakoda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States