Brownie Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was good BUT next time I will be making some changes. I used a 10.25 ounce package of brownie mix and I made it per the package directions for cakelike brownies baking it for 15 minutes which next time I'll only bake for 10 and instead just use an extra egg as others suggested. Second, there was too much caramel so next time I'll just use Smuckers caramel and increase the cheesecake by half (3 pkgs cream cheese, 3 eggs, 3/4 cups sugat and 1-1/2 tsp vanilla). Oh and I used chopped pecans on the outside of the caramel layer to prevent the caramel from seeping and used the remainder for topping which next time I'll just use as topping and a technique that others suggested that I used was placing a pan of water under the cheesecake as it baked, it did keep it moist but I'm going to try submerging the pan wrapped with foil next time. Good with a few tweaks. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kfaro07

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Selma, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Oh, my gosh this was good and mine turned out as pretty as a picture! I made a 10 oz brownie mix and mixed as the package directions. I think my secret was using an 8" springform pan. I baked the brownie bottom for about 20 min. I followed the rest of the recipe as written. My caramel did not run and the chessecake part was perfect. I will be baking this as my new dessert to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
WOW! Amazing! I used an 18 ounce Duncan Hines brownie mix and followed the directions on the package rather than on the recipe. I baked it for 12 minutes. The melted caramels were definitely the way to go. I melted them with the evaporated milk in a double broiler. I also used a 10 inch springform pan. I followed other reviews and used 3 - 8 oz cream cheese packs along with 3 eggs, 1 1/2 tsp vanilla, and 3/4 cups sugar. So glad I did that. I spread the remaining caramel on the top and spread the fudge topping on top of that. The brownie crust was a bit difficult to cut and I used a very sharp knife. It tasted fine though. This was a very rich dessert and well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Yummy! Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was my first cheesecake and it turned out better than something from The Cheesecake Factory!! Very dense and rich. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This was the most amazing thing I think I have ever eaten! I did use sugar free brownies and as others suggested I only cooked the brownies by themselves for 10 min., otherwise I think the crust would have been too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
One of the most delicious and impressive desserts I've ever made! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I used a high quality brownie mix that ended up being 20 oz, definitely too much. Even though I baked it only 15 minutes, it was way too hard after the whole thing was baked and made it very hard to cut. Ended up doubling the cheesecake part as other reviewers suggested which was a good thing. I made the caramel mixture as recipe described, it was very tedious and time comsuming but tasted good, may try the alternative that reviewers have been suggesting. It was definitely a very rich but tastey cheesecake. Will try it again with the amount of brownie mix that recipe called for and only bake 10 minutes tops. Thanks for the recipe, a very yummy and elegant dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
First of all, I'm not a cheesecake fan at all...the hubby is. What interested me was the brownie base. So, I thought I'd give this a try. I now have a favorite cheesecake!!! This recipes rocks! I usually like to follow a recipe as it is written the first time...if I like the recipe, I'll find ways to tweak it. I made this recipe as written except that I followed two pieces of advice from reviews: I didn't bake the brownie as long and I used the La Lachera instead of unwrapping caramels. It was a total time saver! I'll make this cheesecake again, and I think next time, I'll increase the cream cheese mixture as some others have suggested. Also, not sure which size springform pan I used (there were 3 nested and I used the middle pan). It seemed like the perfect size...not to small and not too large. Thanks, Jackie, for a really great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shiloh, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I made the mistake of not reading the reviews and followed this recipe word for word. My cake looked NOTHING like the one featured. Mine was very thin. 65 total minutes baking time for that poor brownie? Seriously? This is the only cake I've needed a knife to cut thru the crust. This is a very misleading 4.5 star average recipe because those that gave it high scores altered the recipe significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States