Brownie Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I've made several cheesecakes and this one got rave reviews from my family. The tricks I learned with this one: Make a Duncan Hines Chewy Brownie mix box (I think it was 20 something ounces) according to the cake-like brownie recipe with 3 eggs. Then measure out 12 fl ounces (yes fluid, I used a measure cup with the pour spout) into the spring form pan. I baked it for 18 minutes. You HAVE to watch the baking of the crust minute to minute. Pull it out as soon as the center is just done. Then you HAVE to bake it in a waterbath. If you do it keeps the crust soft and moist, the top won't crack, and it will come out beautifully. Definately do 1.5 for the cheesecake filling. I debated about this and was glad I did afterwards. This is a really pretty cheesecake and it tastes awesome. Ignore the back and forth reviews and just do common sense baking with it. Brownies get hard if overbaked=its a brownie crust= don't overbake it and it will be fabulous:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
i just looooveeed making this cheescake!! i accidently overcooked it, and the caramel boiled up and made a mess, but i covered it with chocolate fudge and hide all the mess! it was the hit of the night!! i won all my boyfriends family with this cheescake!! they loooveeed ittt! they loveed mee! so defenately recommend this recipie if you wanna make a boom at a dinner party or as a present! its just perfecttly delicious! a decadent! i could give it a 10 stars if there was the option :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Meh. The changes made the recipe better, but this is just a so-so cheesecake. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I only cooked the crust for 25 mins and it was very soggy. I would try 35 mins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was sensational. Very rich. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This cheese cake was good, however, compared to my usual cheesecake which is plain, this could not hold a candle. I found that there was too much brownie for the bottom of the cakeand not enough cheesecake. There was no fooling hubby when I used a boxed brownie. Hubby said it would taste much better if I used my own brownie recipe (not boxed) and put my cream cheese cake on top of it with ganache. I'll try that next:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This cheesecake is not as easy as it sounds. I tried some of the suggestions but non were a success. I had a 18 pkg of brownie mix and measured half out with my food scale. The mix was like cement. So I added a little more. I put it in the oven for 14 min. and the edges wer burned and the middle wasn't touched. The carmel turned out fine! The cheesecake mix was about 2 cream cheese short. It didn't even fill my 9in pan and sunk in the brownie/carmel mix. I've been making cheesecake for years so I know how to make them. I hope I can get to the store and make another one before our Thanksgiving dinner! Maybe I'll try again on another day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Swanton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I took the advice of other posters and tweaked the bake time on the brownie crust. I also bought the new Caramel Bits instead of wrapped caramels which is a HUGE time saver. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom_of_hungry_boys

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Easy to make, It was a hit at my baby shower!!! Next time I will crisco the spring form pan, the caramel and brownie stuck to sides and bottom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This cheesecake is very good, but it does need to be adjusted. I bought a regular box of brownies and made it according to the box but only used 2/3rds of the batter, & baked it in a 10-inch springform pan for 10 minutes. Then with the caramels, I took another subscribers ideal and only mixed the caramels with 1/4 cup of evap. milk. Then as suggested, used 3 8-oz cream cheese, 3/4 cup sugar, three eggs, and 1 1/2 tbsp vanilla, poured that on top and baked it for 40 minutes with a water-filled pan in the oven. When it was done baking, I left it in the over for one hour with the door open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States