Brownie Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This recipe was so delicious! I followed the recipe as printed, and even though everyone loved it at work and it looked beautiful, the next time I make it, I'll make the adjustments other reviewers suggested. The brownie layer turned out moist, and I would've liked a bigger cheesecake layer, so I'll use three blocks of cream cheese instead of two, as others suggested. I'll also used melted chocolate as a drizzle instead of Hershey's chocolate syrup (what I had on hand) which was too thin and runny. To make a "lighter" version, I used Egg Beaters in the brownie and cheesecake layers, fat-free evaporated milk in the caramel sauce, and lower-fat cream cheese. With these changes, it tasted just as rich and decadent (and without all the guilt)! I will definitely make it again! I made three of these for a wedding reception, and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Brownie bottom came out a big chewier than I would've liked. I only cooked for 15 min as per some of the suggestions. Would like to try graham cracker crust or oreo crumb crust next time. Will also up the packages of cream cheese to 3 as per suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
This was just okay. Like others, I cooked the brownie for only 10 minutes, however it was still hard. Also, the caramel burnt up the sides of the pan so I had to cut off all edges. It was not as good as expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was good, only change I made was to add walnuts to the brownie mixture and I also used the Smuckers Carmel Sauce. Everyone enjoyed it, but no rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Hmm...well, this turned out good but not as well as I would have liked. My brownie layer ended up being gooey and my cheesecake layer was not as smooth in texture as I would have liked. The basic concept is good, but I think I'll have to experiment with it to get it right for me. Two things that I changed that I did like: I used Smucker's caramel topping and I added toasted, chopped pecans between the brownie and cheesecake layers. I also reduced the sugar in the cheesecake layer because the brownie and caramel are very sweet. Even though it didn't turn out as well as I would have like, my friends loved it. I'll definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Incredibly sweet and in the words of my father-in-law, "sinful". My brownie layer was a little gooey but that didn't seem to bother anyone but me since I had to try and serve it. I did increase the cheesecake layer and used sweetened condensed milk instead of evaporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I Love this brownie caramel cheesecake one of my favourite cheesecakes to make. Rather then making mine in a sprin form pan I did it in a cilacone one. I made my brownies from scratch there is a wonderful recipe called all in one bowl brownies on this website that I used. Rather then cooking the cheesecake ontop of the brownie I cooked the brownie covered it with the caramel and let it cool. Then I took the bottom out and made the cheesecake separt and then placed it on the top of the brownie, this provented the brownie geting too hard, this way it stayed nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
WOW! I make cheesecake several times a year...I am not allowed to attend a family gathering without bringing one...but I think this is the best I've made! I kept an eye on the brownie crust after reading all the reviews. I couldn't find a small pack so I think I used about 10-11 ounce. I ended up letting it bake about 15-20 minutes. I think we could have used about 1/2 of the caramels because we had a good bit left over after drizzling. I will definitely make this one again! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stella_illuminata
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was the first cheesecake recipe I've ever made, and I loved it! I did follow the suggestions of other reviewers and the final product was excellent. My changes were as follows: I used an 18.3 oz. Betty Crocker brownie mix (I had nothing smaller on hand), and prepared the batter according to the box directions (I think it was 1/4 C water, 3/4 C vegetable oil, and 2 eggs). I poured HALF of the prepared brownie batter into the greased springform pan and baked for 12 minutes. The brownies were no where near done yet of course, but I let them rest on the stove while I prepared the caramel sauce. I made the sauce according to the recipe with no changes, and it was very tasty. It did seem a little thin, but it got thicker as it cooled. I only used about 1/3 of the sauce for the cheesecake. I poured over the brownies, only in the center of the pan, and then spread it around leaving about a one inch border around the edge. I let that sit for about ten minutes which gave the caramel time to firm up a bit. This definitely helped when I poured the cheesecake batter over top, because the caramel didn't run everywhere. There were some spots where the caramel touched the sides, but I didn't have the problem some other reviewers did with the outer caramel hardening. Regardless, next time I'll try pouring the cheesecake batter around the edges first and then in the middle to keep the caramel where I want it. For the actual cheesecake, I followed other people's suggestions a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stella_illuminata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe and super easy to make. My only problem (every time I make it), is that I cant quite figure out how to keep the carmel from hardening around the sides of the pan when baking. I cant quite get the crust to go up around the sides of the pan, so the carmel gets a bit hard on the edges. BUT everywhere you take this, people will ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States