Brownie Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Really yummy. Main change I made was instead of using a springform pan I found it easier to use cupcake cups.It cuts the cooking time quite a bit about 10-15 minutes for the brownie 15-20 for the cheesecake. then I use a spoon or shot glass to make a small indention in the brownie which I fill with caramel. Makes it easier when you make it for family get togethers and stuff like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was excellent. I used a jar of Hershey's Caramel topping instead of making my own to make it quicker and easier. I also only cooked the brownie for 20 minutes during the first baking time. Everything came out great. The brownie was chewy but soft and made an excellent crust. The cheese part was wonderful also. My daughter said, "Mom, you gotta keep this recipe." Great recipe and definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook74

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I screwed up the brownie part...I read too many reviews that said not to bake the brownie part for very long. The middle of the brownie layer was total mush, but still soooooo good. I think it all depends on the brownie mix you use. Then again, this stuff could be served w/a cardboard crust and it would still be PHENOMENAL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Excellent! Take extra care to run a knife around the edge between the cake and the pan as the carmel and brownie turn a little candied. Tastes great and comes with compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
So good it bro't tears to my eyes! I will admit, however, that I'd probably eat an old shoe with Kraft caramel sauce on it! I would NEVER substitute anything for that Kraft/evaporated milk mixture! I used a full 19.5 box brownie recipe following the "chewy" version. I only had a 10-inch springform, so I used a little more than half of the brownie mix to spread on the bottom of the pan. (I put the rest in a mini muffin pan for brownie bites!) I cooked (the mini muffins and) the brownie layer for 15 minutes at 350. The top had crinkled a little and the edges were just dry. After I pulled the brownie layer out, I turned the oven down to 315, and let the caramel mixture cool just a bit to thicken. I used the idea of putting chopped pecans around the edge to hold in the caramel. It worked VERY well and made a nice "crust" around the finished product. Using room temperature cream cheese and eggs, I followed recipe procedures but also increased cream cheese to 3 packages, eggs to 3, and vanilla to 1-1/2 tsp. While cooking the cheesecake part, I put a pan of water on the rack underneath. (Is that for good luck?) I didn't trust myself with a real water bath! I cooked this at the 315 for 50 minutes. Then I turned off the oven, and let the cake sit in the closed oven for 30 minutes. I cracked opened the oven door for the next 30. (I'd read somewhere that a gradual cooling process was important?) I took the cheesecake out of the oven, and put on a rack with an inverted p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindiB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This is the best cheesecake ever!! My whole family loved it. Instead of carmels i used resees peanut butter chips and left out the fudge topping and used the left over peanut butter mixture. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krenee27

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I have never made a cheesecake before until now. I am not exactly sure if I did it correctly...The brownie crust was kind of hard, and I could not get the cheesecake out of the pan, even though I put it in the fridge overnight, and had greased the pan really really well. Other than that this recipe has a really good, rich cheesecake flavor. It is really sweet, so if you do not have a sweet tooth...then stay away. Cheesecake is my favorite dessert, and this one was easy and yummy...I just wish I could have gotten it out of the pan!! Will definitely make this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is a delicious cheesecake with the recommended changes made. I followed other people's advice and used 3 8 oz packages of cream cheese, 3/4 cup of sugar, and followed the brownie box recipe. This is a great cake, but it is a little hard to cut. The caramel hardens and makes it hard to cut, but the taste makes up for that difficulty. I loved this! I am selling it at a fund raiser per slice. I can't wait to hear the feedback!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missuscurlz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I'm crazy about cheesecake, this one is so good and rich!!! I used a 10.5 oz brownie mix (was all I could find) and made it to package directions. I topped it with Smucker's hot caramel topping and added the cheesecake topping (used the 3 pkgs of cream cheese etc.) After baking a left the cheesecake in the oven as suggested. It turned out great. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Very delicious! The only thing that was a downfall in the recipe was when the second layer, that's caramel, is baking, it must of ran to the sides, and when slicing, it was hard to slice a nice piece. The brownie too would be a little hard, like others said, but not when bitten into. Very delicious, simple, and definitely going to make many times again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States