Brownie Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is a fabulous recipe. I followed one of the suggestions and added nuts around the first layer to keep the caramel under control. I get asked for the recipe everywhere I take it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Made this recipe EXACTLY as stated, comes out perfect! Garnish with chopped up toffee bits and caramel drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I LOVED this cheesecake!!! I made it three times in the past week. I recommend letting the caramel cool before adding the cheesecake. also it works better if you add the toppings to each individual piece instead of putting them on the whole thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
We loved this cheesecake! I only have a 10 inch springform pan, so I used that. I made my own brownie for the 'crust', (Quick and Easy Brownie, scaled to 15 servings, baked for 25 mins). I used a bag of Kraft Caramel Bits so I didn't have to unwrap caramels. I increased the cheesecake portion as recommended by other reviewers, especially since I was using an even bigger pan. I decided to make it a day ahead to make sure it had time to chill sufficiently. Awesome dessert that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I made this and my mother-in-law loved it. The one problem I had was keeping the two layers together. With the caramel in between the cheesecake wanted to slide off the brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHATMOMMA1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This did NOT work out well for me! The brownie was hard and would not cut, along with the caramel, which was super sticky and equally difficult to cut. I followed the top reviewers and still wound up with a heavy, hard, mess of a cheesecake. Maybe I did something wrong? I'm not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy_jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This was excellent with some changes. I made all of the batter according to the directions for brownies with a cake-like consistency from a 19 oz box of Duncan Hines Family Style Chewy Brownie Mix. I then used only 9 oz of the made up batter. Probably will up that slightly to 12 oz or so next time. Cooked it for 12 minutes. Let it sit briefly. Poured on the caramel. Used 3 bars of cream cheese, 3/4 cup sugar, and 1 1/2 tsps vanilla extract. Cooked 40 minutes in a water bath. Came out perfectly! I served it at a 4th of July party and had 3 requests (out of 4 couples) for the recipe! Everyone raved. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I used a 18 ounce box of brownie mix and mixed it according to the directions on the box. I poured a little over a half of the batter into a 9 inch springform pan. The rest of the batter I put in mini mini muffin tins and made brownie bites. I followed previous reviewers suggestions and used 3 pkgs of cream cheese (2 regular & 1 low fat), 3 eggs and 3/4 cups of white sugar and 1 tsp of vanilla. I baked the brownie crust for about 20 mins. Put on the caramel and used the trick of adding pecans around the sides so that the caramel wouldn't ooze out. Added the cream cheese mixture and baked in the oven for over an hour. I did use the pan with water method. The water pan was on a rack under my cheesecake. I have to say this cheesecake is better the next day. Very good and absolutely beautiful. Would make a nice gift. I had NO problems slicing the cheesecake. It was not rock hard like others have reported. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This recipe sounded and looked so delicious, but I should have listened to other reviewer's advice that it was not was I was looking for. The brownie crust was too thick, and the cheesecake layer was not thick enough. I have definitely had better cheesecake bases as well. Next time, I will stick with the Turtle Cheesecake recipe on this site with oreo crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Photo by mom of 4girls
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was my first cheesecake ever. So for my first it turned out great. I am at a high altitude, so I increased the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of 4girls

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Adams, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States