Brownie Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
After reading the reviews I was nervous but gave it a try. Glad I did! Used the 10oz brownie mix and made according to package instructions, but only cooked 17 of the 25 minutes. I may try even less next time as the edges were too tough to eat, but the middle was perfect. I increased the cheesecake layer per other reviews. Baked with pan of water. Left in the oven after shutting heat of for an hour then on the counter for 2 hours, then the fridge. No cracks! Will definitely make again. .. and may try 13x9 brownie mix for thicker layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This was my first time making cheesecake and this one turned out really well. I would suggest reducing the amount of time for the brownie crust to cook as many other people have suggested. I added a couple splashes of milk to the reheated caramel sauce just to make it creamier to finish the top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
My Mom and son loves cheesecake so I decided to make last night. Used Duncan Hines Chewy Brownie mix and prepared as directed on package. Baked for 18 minutes. Next time I will only use 1/2 of the batter (use all the batter if you prefer a thicker crust). Let brownie and caramel mixture cool before adding. Used all of the caramel mixture and had no problem with it running over or burning, but next time will add pecans around the edge becuase I love them. Placed a large pan of water on the rack under the cheesecake and baked for 50 minutes. Chilled 4 hours in the refrigerator, ran a butter knife around the pan released spring and rim came up perfectly. Will top next time with fresh strawberries to cut some of the richness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
made as directed. The only suggestion I would make is to not spread the caramel all the way to the edges of the brownie before dumping the cheesecake mixture on it - maybe even making a moat. I found that the outside edges were quite hard and chewy due to the caramel baking to the sides of the pan. Most certainly did not see the caramel layer once cut but it was still a winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crystal
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made this for my teen daughter for her birthday. It was gone in seconds. I used a 9 inch pan and for the brownies I made the bakers chocolate one bowl brownies I always make (much better than a box). I also only pre-baked the brownies for 15 minutes and of course placed a pan of water under the cake while baking. PERFECT!!!! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Excellent recipe! I took the suggestions of most reviewers by adding an extra cream cheese package, cut out some sugar also. I refrigerated the cake overnight and it set perfectly. No oozing caramel. One of the most crowd pleasing cakes I have ever made. Very decadent. I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
If you go by the directions brownie layer will be hard and over cooked, the caramel will be too runny so when you layer the cheesecake mixture the caramel oozes up the sides and disappears into the cheesecake. Will NOT make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I've been baking complicated desserts for years, but recently have delved into the world of cheesecakes. This cheesecake was the second one I've ever made, and it turned out fabulously. I used a lot of the tips in the comments, such as increasing the cream cheese and eggs to three each to minimize the sweetness. I used a 10" pan, so it wasn't a very tall cake. The brownie crust turned out perfectly. I also added pecans to the middle layer and the top. I would caution you to contain the caramel within 1 inch of the edge of the crust. If it leaks out, it will get super sticky and make your cake difficult to cut and remove from the springform. The caramel was easy to make, and it made a delicious sauce. My cheesecake was beautiful and delicious. It received rave reviews from my coworkers. I will definitely be making this recipe again, with the above modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
1/4 cup evaporated milk, 3 cream cheese, 3/4 cup sugar, 1 1/2 teas vanilla, 3 eggs, did add pecans, 45 minutes with water bath, wish someone would post with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made a brownie mix(Ghirardelli Caramel Turtle) for 9 x9 pan and baked for 15 min. Also, did the 3 cream cheese with 3 eggs and 3/4 cup sugar and vanilla.I made the 9" springform pan. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States