Brownie Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
My Mom and son loves cheesecake so I decided to make last night. Used Duncan Hines Chewy Brownie mix and prepared as directed on package. Baked for 18 minutes. Next time I will only use 1/2 of the batter (use all the batter if you prefer a thicker crust). Let brownie and caramel mixture cool before adding. Used all of the caramel mixture and had no problem with it running over or burning, but next time will add pecans around the edge becuase I love them. Placed a large pan of water on the rack under the cheesecake and baked for 50 minutes. Chilled 4 hours in the refrigerator, ran a butter knife around the pan released spring and rim came up perfectly. Will top next time with fresh strawberries to cut some of the richness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
made as directed. The only suggestion I would make is to not spread the caramel all the way to the edges of the brownie before dumping the cheesecake mixture on it - maybe even making a moat. I found that the outside edges were quite hard and chewy due to the caramel baking to the sides of the pan. Most certainly did not see the caramel layer once cut but it was still a winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crystal
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Made this for my teen daughter for her birthday. It was gone in seconds. I used a 9 inch pan and for the brownies I made the bakers chocolate one bowl brownies I always make (much better than a box). I also only pre-baked the brownies for 15 minutes and of course placed a pan of water under the cake while baking. PERFECT!!!! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Excellent recipe! I took the suggestions of most reviewers by adding an extra cream cheese package, cut out some sugar also. I refrigerated the cake overnight and it set perfectly. No oozing caramel. One of the most crowd pleasing cakes I have ever made. Very decadent. I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
If you go by the directions brownie layer will be hard and over cooked, the caramel will be too runny so when you layer the cheesecake mixture the caramel oozes up the sides and disappears into the cheesecake. Will NOT make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I've been baking complicated desserts for years, but recently have delved into the world of cheesecakes. This cheesecake was the second one I've ever made, and it turned out fabulously. I used a lot of the tips in the comments, such as increasing the cream cheese and eggs to three each to minimize the sweetness. I used a 10" pan, so it wasn't a very tall cake. The brownie crust turned out perfectly. I also added pecans to the middle layer and the top. I would caution you to contain the caramel within 1 inch of the edge of the crust. If it leaks out, it will get super sticky and make your cake difficult to cut and remove from the springform. The caramel was easy to make, and it made a delicious sauce. My cheesecake was beautiful and delicious. It received rave reviews from my coworkers. I will definitely be making this recipe again, with the above modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
1/4 cup evaporated milk, 3 cream cheese, 3/4 cup sugar, 1 1/2 teas vanilla, 3 eggs, did add pecans, 45 minutes with water bath, wish someone would post with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made a brownie mix(Ghirardelli Caramel Turtle) for 9 x9 pan and baked for 15 min. Also, did the 3 cream cheese with 3 eggs and 3/4 cup sugar and vanilla.I made the 9" springform pan. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Time consuming but worth it. Used a 10.5 brownie mix and used 2 eggs (called for 1). Baked for 15 minutes as it wasn't cooked through earlier. Placed pecans on top of the brownie mix before pouring on the caramel, which stopped any seepage. Followed the 3 packs cream cheese etc. recipe from a previous reviewer and the filling turned out great. Baked for an hour and left in the closed oven for over 2. Chilled for 4-5 hours. Got great reviews from guests but make sure you have plenty of time to make, it takes a while!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Because a friend saw this recipe and was set on me making this, I went ahead with it even though the reviews called for a lot of revisions and others were just negative reviews. I made the brownies as the package directed and reduced the time to about 8 minutes as to try to prevent burning. Unfortunately, the brownie still turned out burnt to a crisp. Also following reviews, I tweaked the cheesecake recipe part, which did turn out good. But really, I can't honestly say that this recipe as written works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States