Brownie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I followed the directions exactly. My bread turned out velvety. It is not a sweet bread, but it made great french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Good bread. As my husband noted, the texture is like a brownie, so that is likely where the name comes from. Does it taste like a brownie? Well, no, it's definitely bread with a bit of a chocolate taste, so if you are looking for a sweeter bread, you are going to have to make some changes or find another recipe. It is more like a brown bread, similar to a pumpernickel. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
It was not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Love this bread with a good cup of coffee. This bread is great with a little Nutella spread for a satisfying chocolate fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This bread was dry and didn't taste good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingbuddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
While the basic idea of the bread was good I made some of my own changes that I think added to the overall texture and taste. 1/4C of Cocoa and water, 2 1/2tsp Yeast, 1/2C sugar, 2/3C warm water, closer to 4 cups of flour, 1tbsp vanilla, one lunchable size chocolate pudding, 1tsp salt, 2tbsp of oil, and 1 egg. I placed in my bread machine according to directions and then put it on the DOUGH cycle. When completed I took the dough out, punched it down on a floured countertop (it was quite sticky), split it in half (makes 2 smaller loaves or one big loaf), placed in greased bread pans in a warm oven for 30 minutes. Warm oven up to 350 and cook for 25 minutes. I made this this morning and my mom and I have already eaten half a loaf because it is SO good. While it certainly does not taste like brownies, it was moist, filling, and has a delicious chocolaty after taste! It also makes the house smell amazing... I will certainly make this bread again with the changes as it will be AMAZING with a peanutbutter banana sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I don't use bread machines but used this as a hand made recipe. After the first rise, I rolled it out and spread it with 4 Tbsp of soft butter and then sprinkled it with sugar, (both white and brown), finely chopped walnut, and a little flour then rolled it and baked it. It made an amazing loaf of "swirl" bread. Next time I will leave out the nuts or put them in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This bread was SOOOO GOOD. The only thing I did was to make it with all whole wheat flour and both whole eggs. The bread was a nice dense bread - but light at the same time (I'm not sure if that makes sense). It was versatile - I was expecting the chocolate to make it a bread only good for butter or jam... But my kids were dipping it in carrot and ginger soup... The chocolate is a nice balance - it's not overpowering - if you eat it alone the chocolate comes out nicely - but it's not so much (like I said) that you can't enjoy it with a cup of soup or for a sandwich. I really really liked this bread - my kids loved it too!!! It was gone in hours... I'm making it again - but lots of loaves that I'll freeze so we'll have it. But keep in mind like other reviewers mentioned. This is bread - it's not a brownie - it's not ooey gooey sticky sweet... It's a nice bread. If you want a dessert, make the brownies... If you want a nice bread - this will do perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States