Brownie Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This recipe turned out great! I have never made biscotti before and found it easy to put together. For the 2nd baking, I did turn the heat down to 250 like another reviewer suggested. It was great! The one problem I ran into was when I was melting the white chocolate, it melted, but then it got hard again even when it was still in the double boiler. So I ended up smearing the chocolate on with a butter knife - still tastes yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcdonaldmo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Ok, so these are a little time consuming but very good. I was afraid I was going to mess this recipe up but I didnt. I made 2 batches-the first I made one large loaf and got biscottis that were similar in size to those you see in coffee houses. the second batch I made 2 loaves and got smaller ones. They both turned out great. I added a little more coco powder and left out the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by npaulus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
LOVE it! Baked them the first time as written (but ommitted nuts, I'm allergic), and they were yum, but did burn a bit on the second bake. The next time I made them, I added 8 oz dried cherries, chopped up, and lowered the oven temp to 300. PERFECT. People go crazy for them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
A bit disappointing. We love biscotti of most varieties but this didn't deliver due to its light chocolate favor and super dry texture. Would have to adapt too many aspects so will probably look for a new chocolate biscotti recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
My family loved these biscotti! I cut the baking powder to 1 tsp. and only waited 15 mins before cutting into slices. The crumbling was an issue but I made a double batch and was able slavage most. Be very careful when turning during second baking as they really crumble easily. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These were good and easy to make. They do have a brownie taste to them and are very chocolaty (which I love). I was testing the recipe before Christmas and will make another batch (first time making biscotti).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
It was ok... but it could have been the kahlua I used instead of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Kelly Yu
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is perfectly crunchy and is not brittle (people with braces could eat this easily). Also, the cocoa and chocolate and walnut flavors complement each other very well. I would increase the walnuts to 1/2 cup for more taste. Maybe add more cocoa powder for a more powerful cocoa flavor as well. The egg yolk shouldn't be skipped either - it makes an excellent shiny covering on top of the biscotti. This recipe was completely worth making, although I got my hands all sticky and gross from the dough. To make easier to handle, wet your hands while shaping the dough into logs. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I used the instruction of another biscotti recipe that says to turn your oven off after the first bake, slice the biscotti, lay them out on the cookie sheet, and put them back in the warm oven. They come out perfect every time without the possibility of burning them. (I usually put them in and forget about them.) I regret that I followed the advice of adding more cocoa, it ended up tasting a little chalky, but I know I'll make these again, they were good. I drizzled melted white chips over them and they were beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Awesome biscotti. I also lowered the temperature to 250 on the second baking so they wouldn't get too dry....I substituted maraschino cherries (chopped) and the juice to add flavor instead of the walnuts...drizzled with chocolate and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States