Brownie Batter + Cupcake = The SECOND BEST Cupcake. Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I used Ghiradelli Triple Chocolate Brownie mix and Betty Crocker white cake mix. I prepared these as directed with no problems. I took the suggestion of one reviewer and chilled the brownie batter beforehand which made a difference. I sprayed the inside of the cupcake liners with PAM cooking spray to avoid sticking. I put a dollop of the brownie mix and white cake mix on top. I made 30 cupcakes that baked up perfectly in 20 minutes in my gas oven. The cake was done, springy to the touch and light golden brown while the brownie was a nice fudgy, gooey brownie and not undercooked. I liked the perfect little brownie bite in the cupcake. The cupcake liner peeled right off with no problems sticking. I topped these off with,” Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting, “also from this website, a perfect match thanks to all of reviewers who suggested this! I just piped a little frosting on top, not a lot, so it did not overpower all the other tastes. Not only did the cupcakes smell and taste great but the layers of the dark brown brownie, white cake with the peanut butter frosting made for a nice looking treat. The combination of the brownie and peanut butter was perfect. I am glad that I finally got the chance to make these perfect little treats. This was easy to make, fun and a hit with everyone! Mahalo for the great recipe Lovestohost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I would agree that they are second best, the cookie dough cupcakes are definitely my favorite, but still very yummy! Put the brownie batter in the fridge for a few hours and it helped. Found that I could put batter down, then a blob of brownie and then the rest of the batter to fill the muffin case. Very yummy, will try peanut butter frosting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
made this recipe as directed but did it in a two layer cake for my boyfriends birthday.. i was nervous about making a cake instead of cupcakes..the cake turned out quite dense..everyone loved it but i wasn't happy .. i didn't get the gooey center i was hoping for..besides that i used milk instead of water like i usually do when baking a cake.. i ended up baking this for about 40 min which seemed like a long time for me but that's what my toothpick told me to do :) i used the peanut butter icing recipe to top and it was delicious and creamy and not oily whatsoever..i was told that it was better than the peanut butter icing on the cupcakes we got in New York!! I used Kraft creamy PB i don't think we can get jif in Canada :) i will definitely be making cupcakes next time.. thanks for the recipe!!! i just tried my cake again and i was wrong!! it's absolutely delicious! it's so decadent ... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I made these last night for a work potluck. i was prepared to write that although they are good, they were a pain in the butt to make and i would probably never make again. and then i ate one this morning. OMG! i want to make them again tonight! they were perfect. i also made the PB frosting as suggested. I'm a novice cook, so almost everything is a pain in the butt to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crossfitgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rural Retreat, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
The cupcakes were delicious! I topped them with a homemade peanut butter frosting, and everyone loved them! The only thing I was a little disappointed with, was that my cupcakes did not look at all like the picture. It was more of a "layered" look- brownie at the bottom, cupcake on top. Not a big deal, but I plan on trying to fix this the next time I bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This recipe is the second best cupcake recipe I've ever made. This person also has a chocolate chip cookie dough filled cupcake that is the best! A real treat for you're kids and their friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kadie Stefankiewicz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
flame! My boyfriend and his friend maxed on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 11bllanco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I TOO HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE BROWNIE STICKING TO THE PAPER. MAYBE NEXT TIME I'LL JUST SPRAY THE PAPER A LITTLE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Best Cupcake EVER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Carroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nayboo54
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I love this cupcakes, even better than the cookie dough stuffed ones! I did as others did and piped int he batter, but also chilled it for about 20 minutes and let the cake batter sit for that long too, so it thickened up a little...LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States