Brownie Batter + Cupcake = The SECOND BEST Cupcake. Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This recipe is so easy and delicious. I tried one without frosting while it was still warm from the oven and it was fantastic!! To solve the sticking to the bottom of the paper issue, I sprayed the papers with cooking spray that had flour in it. I made mine with yellow cake mix and all of the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This cupcake is so good!!!we put chocolate butter cream on top! Definetly try this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Great flavor and easy to make. I took the suggestion of others and added cake mix first in the cupcake cups then brownie mix and ending with cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
These cupcakes were so dang good! I will tell you I subbed unsweetened apple sauce for the canola oil (which I always do when baking). These were done in 18 minutes in my oven, so I recommend checking them after 16 minutes. I couldnt find cake mix that was 18.25, there were only 16.25 or 15.25 so I cant help but wonder if that was a typo because I used the same measurements and they came out perfectly. Makes 24 cupcakes, not 48. Topped with chocolate icing from here. Couldnt stop munching on them! Would like to try them with some sort of peanut butter frosting next time, as suggested by another reviewer. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Very taste! Didn’t make 48, but that was ok. Had a problem with the brownies sticking to the foil papers, will spray them next time to prevent this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I made these with strawberry cake mix, instead of white cake mix. (To complement a cake I baked with brownie and strawberry cake for my son's birthday). I used a buttercream/cream cheese icing on top. Everyone loved them! Mine were done after 18 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlexInWonderland
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
These cupcakes were a HUGE success! I made mini cupcakes, and they were amazing! I layered the brownie mix on the bottom, and then I put a layer of white cake on top. (Simple White Cake by SCOTTOSMAN on this webiste). I put a chocolate chip in the center of each cupcake, and then frosted the cupcakes with "Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting" from this website. I then sprinkled chocolate crumbles on top to pull everything together. They were beyond incredible! I recieved rave reviews! At first I was worried that the cupcakes wouldn't bake evenly considering that there were 2 different mixes with 2 different baking times, but they came out fine! Better than fine- AMAZING! HIGHLY reccommend! I will be making these again for sure. And this yields A LOT of cupcakes- I was able to make 110 mini cupcakes. But not to worry- everyone will gobble them right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexInWonderland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I liked the taste of these cupcakes, but, using 48 foil cupcake papers made them really small. I am not much of a baker so I guess practice will help me. Next time I will not use s many foil papers. They were just regular size ones. Seemed like I had more papers than cupcake. Will make again and recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I spooned about a Tbsp. of cake batter into cupcake liners, then added a teaspoon of brownie batter, then topped with another Tbsp. cake batter, then baked. This prevented the cupcakes from sticking as other readers had problems with. However, while moist, I really found these cupcakes lacked flavor. The white cake was bland, and the chocolate wasn't strong enough to come through. If I make them again, I'll try adding some almond extract to the white cake batter, and perhaps I'll add some melted chocolate to the brownie batter. Sorry, they just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States