Brownie Batter + Cupcake = The SECOND BEST Cupcake. Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I made this cupcake for a good friend's birthday party. These were absolutely amazing. I made my cupcakes with 1/3 brownie on the bottom and Strawberry cake on top with a cream cheese icing. I cooked my cupcakes for 25 mins at 350 degrees. Please note that the brownie is going to be soft and gooey. I love it like that and so did everyone else but anyone that is squimish about brownie batter that isn't fully cooked might want to cook just the brownie in the oven for a bit before adding the cake batter. I also tried putting only a little brownie on the bottom instead of 1/3. I found that the brownie still stayed gooey and when unwrapping these cupcakes the brownie stuck to the foil cups. All the cupcakes that had 1/3 of the brownie came out of the foil cups without a problem. I will definitely make these again and have been deemed the "cupcake maker" of the family now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I have made this recipe several times. Always turns out great. Always a hit. The only thing I do different is two eggs instead of 3 egg whites in the cake mix because it's easier. Gonna try the cookie dough ones soon, but I don't know if it gets any better than these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Awesome!! Definitely will make again!! Thanks for the recipe! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This recipe is really good. I made 2batches, one using vanilla and the other strawberry. However, I didn't end up with48 cupcakes and didn't overfill my liners. The recipe calls for 18.75 oz cake mix box and cake mixes now come in 15.25 oz boxes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I made these twice (to give them a fair chance) and just do not see the hype. They were a lot of trouble to make and then the result is just a cupcake with a different color center. There was little, if any, taste variation between the cupcake and the brownie. Plus since you are using two mixes, do the math...it makes way more than you would ever want to eat. I didn't even want to give them away since they were so blah tasting. I guess I had high expectations based on other's reviews. We won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These turned out great and didn't need any frosting. I made frosting from the Hershey's cocoa box but I thought it was too sweet when combined with these sweet treats. I only changed one part of the recipe. I baked just the brownie part of the cupcake for five minutes before topping with the cake batter and baking for 20 minutes. Everything was baked but not over-baked. I will make these again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Taylor-Giegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Super good and very easy. Used a vanilla cake and the brownie. Mmmmm. Makes 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Not quite. These cupcakes were easy enough to make but not really that good. I made these for a baby shower and the only really saving grace was the frosting I used (coffee cinnamon). The cupcake itself is pretty typical cake from a box, and the brownie mix really wasn't the ooey gooey center I was hoping for. Probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I must agree with LTH. Her chocolate chip cookie dough cupcakes are the BOMB and by FAR her BEST creation yet!!! :) After having polished nearly half a dozen of LTH's cookie dough cupcakes (no kidding lol!), these just don't compare. Don't get me wrong.... These are yummy but just not AS good. As per LTH's suggestion (per her review), I subbed a dark chocolate (fudge) cake mix for the white one called for. Keep in mind, if you use ANYTHING other than a white cake mix, READ THE BOX DIRECTIONS CAREFULLY! White cakes are made with egg whites to help maintain the cake's white color. All other cakse are made with the ENTIRE egg (yolk AND white). Rather than layering a dollop of cake batter, a 1/3 of the brownie batter and the remaining 2/3 of my cupcake liner with MORE cake batter (as many reviewers have done), I followed LTH's directions TO THE LETTER. My only change (other than subbing a different flavor cake mix), was to chill my brownie batter slightly to ensure this part of my cupcakes remained gooey when baked (thanks karguo!). I lightly sprayed each liner with cooking spray to ensure my brownie layer would not stick (worked like a charm). I topped each cupcake with chocolate fudge buttercream frosting and chopped PB cups. With these changes, I ended up with a cupcake similar (both flavor and texturewise) to a decadent, chocolatey truffle. Mmmmm.... Thanks for sharing another one of your unique recipes, LTH! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this for my family and friends night and they loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyv76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States