Brownie Batter + Cupcake = The SECOND BEST Cupcake. Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
These were GREAT and so easy! I made exact how the recipe said to with peanut butter icing, and took them to a party and EVERYONE made yum noises when they ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Made exactly the way it's written, did a buttercream peanut butter icing and seriously, everyone was BLOWN away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
They were great. I made them for a baby shower and dyed the white part pink. I used Duncan Hines Fudge Brownie mix and it turned out great. I also used the fluffy peanut butter frosting and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
3 stars because i loved this idea but they were a disaster. first the cake part didn't bake right and was cracked on almost every cupcake. also when trying to eat them the layers didn't stick together and it was a mess. i think for this to work some cake batter should go on the bottom then fill with about 1 Tbs of brownie and then more cake mix on top. i will try this again because it still sounds like a good idea...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Delicious! BEST CUPCAKE EVAR~! my comment is, that i guess some people didnt undertand the recipe. you were not supposed to prepare the cake mix as according to the box, you were supposed to add only the cake mix to the ingredients in this recipe. try it again, and it might work! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
LOVE them. It fulfilled my pregnancy craving. Not all of the brownies turned out gooey for me- I've eaten 2 so far.. and one had a gooey brownie and one didn't. I tried them both ways- putting the cake mix at the bottom, and the brownie mix at the bottom. I think they are gooey-er when the brownie mix is on the bottom. Used the fluffy peanut butter frosting as some other posters suggested. LOVE LOVE LOVE them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Followed recipe exactly and used the suggested fluffy peanut butter icing. Absolutely delicious and easy to make! Subtle sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Absolutely perfect! I used a Betty Crocker brownie mix, my own white cupcake batter, and a cookie scoop to divide both batters evenly between 24 cupcake wells. These baked up beautifully in exactly 20 minutes, the cake was not overdone and the brownie was not overly-gooey. After they cooled, I topped them with Hard Chocolate Glaze from this site. I'm calling them Brownie Bottom Cupcakes :) UPDATE: Just made these for valentine's day and tinted the cake batter pink then covered in chocolate glaze. Too cute!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I used veg oil instead if canola oil. Thinking they would have turned out better if I made the batter as the boxes said to. They were just ok. I think plain brownies or plain cake would have been better. I sprayed the liners with Pam and didn't have any problems with sticking. I frosted half with chocolate frosting and the other half with Peanut Butter frosting from this site. I preferred the chocolate frosting ones. Will not make these again- darn, I had high hopes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by norcalchic
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norcalchic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States