Browned Brussels Sprouts with Orange and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I recently starting eating Brussels Sprouts again, despite the memories of not liking them as a child. I now love them. I only had one pound of sprouts on hand, but used the stated amounts of the other ingredients. I browned mine in toasted sesame oil with a little grape seed oil as well, in my cast iron skillet. (I didn't have any walnut oil on hand.) I added more orange juice, as it quickly evaporated. The end product was delicious. I will definitely make this again. If I use two pounds of sprouts next time, I might roast them in the oven as mentioned in the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
For a not so favorite veggie this is the best recipe to make! My family request this dish quite often, so often it is now a Thanksgiving special~! I use the steamer bag Brussels Spouts to cut the cooking time in half otherwise the spouts take a lot longer time to make tender than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I love brussel sprouts;And this recipe is fast & simple,also great flavor. used olive oil no walnut oil on hand orange zest, Juice & walnuts used, GrEAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I love brussels sprouts and this is a great recipe! The orange complements the sprouts very well. I used some smoked alder wood salt while cooking, and sprinkled on some bleu cheese when finished. A bowl full was very filling and made a whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I personally love Brussels sprouts but I know a lot of people are doubtful about them. However, I decided to make this for the last barbecue of the summer (not the last barbecue of the year, but of summer) & we served it at room temperature. All diners raved & were surprised to find themselves taking seconds. It's a little more work than my usual treatment of Brussels sprouts but definitely worth it for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made this to go with our holiday dinner and it was outrageously good. Instead of orange juice and zest, I used the juice of one lemon thinned with some water and the lemon zest. I was out of walnuts so I substituted toasted sliced almonds. Everyone just raved about this. I will definitely make this again, using my substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Love this recipe! Used a generous splash of apple juice in addition to the orange to cut the citrus slightly. This is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Delicious! The orange and walnuts completely eliminated to strong flavor Brussels sprouts sometimes have. Browning them rather than steaming them also added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of brussels sprouts. I loved this recipe! I had fresh baby sprouts on hand so I didn't halve them. They took a bit longer than 15 minutes to cook and we used double the amount of orange juice. We ran out of liquid so we added some lemon. I love citrus so this worked great for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I liked this one very much. I roasted in in the oven at 350 for about 30 minutes on a cookie sheet instead of cooking in a skillet. I added the walnuts during the last 10 minutes. I added more oil than it called for. I used walnut oil but it was a little expensive. You could probably substitute olive oil or vegatable oil and it would be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States