Browned Brussels Sprouts with Orange and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I recently starting eating Brussels Sprouts again, despite the memories of not liking them as a child. I now love them. I only had one pound of sprouts on hand, but used the stated amounts of the other ingredients. I browned mine in toasted sesame oil with a little grape seed oil as well, in my cast iron skillet. (I didn't have any walnut oil on hand.) I added more orange juice, as it quickly evaporated. The end product was delicious. I will definitely make this again. If I use two pounds of sprouts next time, I might roast them in the oven as mentioned in the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of brussels sprouts. I loved this recipe! I had fresh baby sprouts on hand so I didn't halve them. They took a bit longer than 15 minutes to cook and we used double the amount of orange juice. We ran out of liquid so we added some lemon. I love citrus so this worked great for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I love brussel sprouts;And this recipe is fast & simple,also great flavor. used olive oil no walnut oil on hand orange zest, Juice & walnuts used, GrEAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I liked this one very much. I roasted in in the oven at 350 for about 30 minutes on a cookie sheet instead of cooking in a skillet. I added the walnuts during the last 10 minutes. I added more oil than it called for. I used walnut oil but it was a little expensive. You could probably substitute olive oil or vegatable oil and it would be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I love brussels sprouts and this is a great recipe! The orange complements the sprouts very well. I used some smoked alder wood salt while cooking, and sprinkled on some bleu cheese when finished. A bowl full was very filling and made a whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I personally love Brussels sprouts but I know a lot of people are doubtful about them. However, I decided to make this for the last barbecue of the summer (not the last barbecue of the year, but of summer) & we served it at room temperature. All diners raved & were surprised to find themselves taking seconds. It's a little more work than my usual treatment of Brussels sprouts but definitely worth it for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
For a not so favorite veggie this is the best recipe to make! My family request this dish quite often, so often it is now a Thanksgiving special~! I use the steamer bag Brussels Spouts to cut the cooking time in half otherwise the spouts take a lot longer time to make tender than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made this to go with our holiday dinner and it was outrageously good. Instead of orange juice and zest, I used the juice of one lemon thinned with some water and the lemon zest. I was out of walnuts so I substituted toasted sliced almonds. Everyone just raved about this. I will definitely make this again, using my substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Love this recipe! Used a generous splash of apple juice in addition to the orange to cut the citrus slightly. This is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Delicious! The orange and walnuts completely eliminated to strong flavor Brussels sprouts sometimes have. Browning them rather than steaming them also added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States