Browned Brussels Sprouts with Orange and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made this to go with our holiday dinner and it was outrageously good. Instead of orange juice and zest, I used the juice of one lemon thinned with some water and the lemon zest. I was out of walnuts so I substituted toasted sliced almonds. Everyone just raved about this. I will definitely make this again, using my substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I love brussels sprouts and this is a great recipe! The orange complements the sprouts very well. I used some smoked alder wood salt while cooking, and sprinkled on some bleu cheese when finished. A bowl full was very filling and made a whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
We just had this for our side dish with dinner and it was FABULOUS. A few changes I made: Oven roasted them at 375 degrees with the walnut oil for 30 minutes/added juice of half an orange for final 10 minutes and finished with the zest of half an orange, kosher salt and fresh black pepper. We did not add any nuts and probably will not add them in the future -these were FABULOUS and both my husband and I think they were the best we have ever had! DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I personally love Brussels sprouts but I know a lot of people are doubtful about them. However, I decided to make this for the last barbecue of the summer (not the last barbecue of the year, but of summer) & we served it at room temperature. All diners raved & were surprised to find themselves taking seconds. It's a little more work than my usual treatment of Brussels sprouts but definitely worth it for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I liked this one very much. I roasted in in the oven at 350 for about 30 minutes on a cookie sheet instead of cooking in a skillet. I added the walnuts during the last 10 minutes. I added more oil than it called for. I used walnut oil but it was a little expensive. You could probably substitute olive oil or vegatable oil and it would be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
For a not so favorite veggie this is the best recipe to make! My family request this dish quite often, so often it is now a Thanksgiving special~! I use the steamer bag Brussels Spouts to cut the cooking time in half otherwise the spouts take a lot longer time to make tender than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I love Brussels sprouts but I have to say that this is my all-time favorite recipe for them! The best flavor came from using a Tangelo in place of an orange--super sweet/tangy orange flavor! Also, since I don't usually keep walnut oil on hand, I just brown the sprouts in olive or canola oil and they turn out great. Fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Delicious! The orange and walnuts completely eliminated to strong flavor Brussels sprouts sometimes have. Browning them rather than steaming them also added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Loved this recipe! Easy to make in cast iron skillet. Never found a recipe for brussels sprouts I liked until now. Husband liked too. Used toasted sesame oil since didn't have walnut. Added a little minced garlic, fresh ginger and green onion just for fun. Added juice from 2 oranges and zest from 1. Tasted good but once I added the toasted walnuts it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of brussels sprouts. I loved this recipe! I had fresh baby sprouts on hand so I didn't halve them. They took a bit longer than 15 minutes to cook and we used double the amount of orange juice. We ran out of liquid so we added some lemon. I love citrus so this worked great for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States