Browned Brussels Sprouts with Orange and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I love brussels sprouts and this is a great recipe! The orange complements the sprouts very well. I used some smoked alder wood salt while cooking, and sprinkled on some bleu cheese when finished. A bowl full was very filling and made a whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I think it would have been alright without orange taste...didn't care for taste combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I personally love Brussels sprouts but I know a lot of people are doubtful about them. However, I decided to make this for the last barbecue of the summer (not the last barbecue of the year, but of summer) & we served it at room temperature. All diners raved & were surprised to find themselves taking seconds. It's a little more work than my usual treatment of Brussels sprouts but definitely worth it for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
For a not so favorite veggie this is the best recipe to make! My family request this dish quite often, so often it is now a Thanksgiving special~! I use the steamer bag Brussels Spouts to cut the cooking time in half otherwise the spouts take a lot longer time to make tender than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made this to go with our holiday dinner and it was outrageously good. Instead of orange juice and zest, I used the juice of one lemon thinned with some water and the lemon zest. I was out of walnuts so I substituted toasted sliced almonds. Everyone just raved about this. I will definitely make this again, using my substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I totally love brussels sprouts and this recipe is worthy of a second chance. It takes a lot longer to cook them than stated. But, I really love the idea and taste of the orange paired with the sprouts. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Love this recipe! Used a generous splash of apple juice in addition to the orange to cut the citrus slightly. This is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Delicious! The orange and walnuts completely eliminated to strong flavor Brussels sprouts sometimes have. Browning them rather than steaming them also added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I love this recipe! Using fresh brussel sprouts requires more cooking time than stated. Also, the orange juice reduced before the veg was tender enough, so I added some more and covered the pan to steam them a little bit. Someone's review mentioned that they sprinkled a little blue cheese. I didn't try this, but think it would go nicely and will try this next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
We just had this for our side dish with dinner and it was FABULOUS. A few changes I made: Oven roasted them at 375 degrees with the walnut oil for 30 minutes/added juice of half an orange for final 10 minutes and finished with the zest of half an orange, kosher salt and fresh black pepper. We did not add any nuts and probably will not add them in the future -these were FABULOUS and both my husband and I think they were the best we have ever had! DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States