Browned Brussels Sprouts with Orange and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by heilau
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
We were out of bacon so I needed a new sprout recipe. This was delicious and not too heavy. I poured in a little light beer to help steam the big ones. I used some of the zest separately to make citrus oil so in the end I cut the leftover orange carcass up and tossed them in to add an extra orange flavor. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I loved this recipe! The only things I did differently were: 1) used peanut oil (because that's what I had) 2) added dried cranberries, tossed in when I added everything else into the large bowl. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I have hated brussel sprouts since I was a kid and was made to choke them down as part of my dinner. I have had such an aversion to them that it bordered on a phobia. I kept hearing people say that they loved them and decided it must have been the way my mom made them so I decided to try them. Several years after coming to this decision I finally got the courage to attempt them with this recipe. I LOVED THEM!!! They were tender and nowhere near the bitter ones I had as a child. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars was that my husband didn't care for them. I only dinged them slightly for that because he's not a vegetable person anyway. I will definitely make them again. I made them with olive oil and skipped the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Good but needed a little more flavor??? Will def try again and spruce them up a bit....maybe a splash of grand marnier? Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Delicious recipe exaclty as written. Add this to your list of recipes that make brussel sprout taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Loved this recipe! Easy to make in cast iron skillet. Never found a recipe for brussels sprouts I liked until now. Husband liked too. Used toasted sesame oil since didn't have walnut. Added a little minced garlic, fresh ginger and green onion just for fun. Added juice from 2 oranges and zest from 1. Tasted good but once I added the toasted walnuts it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I love brussel sprouts;And this recipe is fast & simple,also great flavor. used olive oil no walnut oil on hand orange zest, Juice & walnuts used, GrEAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I recently starting eating Brussels Sprouts again, despite the memories of not liking them as a child. I now love them. I only had one pound of sprouts on hand, but used the stated amounts of the other ingredients. I browned mine in toasted sesame oil with a little grape seed oil as well, in my cast iron skillet. (I didn't have any walnut oil on hand.) I added more orange juice, as it quickly evaporated. The end product was delicious. I will definitely make this again. If I use two pounds of sprouts next time, I might roast them in the oven as mentioned in the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I liked this one very much. I roasted in in the oven at 350 for about 30 minutes on a cookie sheet instead of cooking in a skillet. I added the walnuts during the last 10 minutes. I added more oil than it called for. I used walnut oil but it was a little expensive. You could probably substitute olive oil or vegatable oil and it would be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I'm not a huge fan of brussels sprouts. I loved this recipe! I had fresh baby sprouts on hand so I didn't halve them. They took a bit longer than 15 minutes to cook and we used double the amount of orange juice. We ran out of liquid so we added some lemon. I love citrus so this worked great for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States