Brown Sugar and Spice Dry Ham Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
We really enjoyed this rub. It was just what I was looking for! I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I just used equal parts of cinnamon & nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was enough for my 8.5 lb. fully cooked shank ham. Didn't have pie spice, so used 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. ginger, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp. ground cloves. Only used 1/2 tsp. ground mustard. Scored it and rubbed it all over the ham, then put it in my Lisk roaster covered and forgot it for 2 hours. It came out moist and delishious. The juice in the bottom of the pan was great on baked sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Fantastic! We smoked a precooked ham for 3 hrs @230 degrees. I first smothered the ham in regular yellow mustard. Then I used this rub over the entire ham and massaged it in. At the 2 1/2 hr mark I mixed up honey & BBQ sauce and put it all over the ham. It looked and tasted awesome! The entire family loved it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I'm so glad that everyone has enjoyed this rub! I just wanted to add a quick note. When I make my ham with this rub, I preheat the oven to 550. I cook the rubbed ham uncovered at 550 for about 20 minutes. I then turn it down to 300 or so (whatever the ham directions call for) and cook it for the length of time called for on the directions. This makes the rub crust nicely and helps seal in the juices. I've used this method with all types of hams and never had dryness issues :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Fabulous. Just fabulous. This really made my once-a-year ham really shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I don't want to "mess with" the ratings for this particular recipe as is, but I do have some feedback that I think may help others trying this recipe in the future. I, like many users of allrecipes.com, read a recipe, read some (if not all) of the reviews to get ideas on how to tweak the recipe, and then just go for it! In this case I was working with not having the pumpkin pie spice or all the ingredients to make my own. So I took the advice of another reviewer and tried garam masala in place of the pie spice. I also followed another reviewer's suggestion and basted the ham with a basic yellow mustard before putting the rub on (in other words "under" the rub). I also followed the additional cooking recommendations that the recipe's author added under the reviews to kind of crisp the outside of the ham and seal in the juices before the low temperature cooking (cook on 550 degrees for first 20 minutes) instead of having to cover the ham. The results: 1) DON'T ATTEMPT THIS IF YOU DO NOT HAVE AN OVERHEAD FAN FOR YOUR RANGE (LOL, we are in a rental cottage and quickly discovered how loud the smoke detector is! I'm glad it works!) 2) With that adventure behind me and the ham finished cooking, I am happy to say that the flavor of the outer/encrusted pieces of ham were FANTASTIC! We were fighting over who got those pieces! Thanks for a fun and delicious cooking adventure and good luck to you other adventurers out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I will never cook ham another way again. This was so good. It was a good the Heavenly Ham that my Mother in Law buy every year at Christmas time. I used a smoked ham and cooked it in my crock pot for about 6 hours. It turned out soft an juicy. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I substituted 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This rub was phenomenal!! We used it on a 10 pound bone in spiral cut ham that we cooked for Christmas in the smoker...what a great flavor!! it is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is a very good rub!!! I made this, then kept all the juice, sliced the ham, and then put it in the juice to keep it juicy and have all that rub in the juice get all over the meat. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sek_gillis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Very good!!!!! I will def do this again. I did it with a spiral ham this time, but next time, I will do a whole (bone in) ham. The spiral ham dries up without foil on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Measure Brown Sugar

See the simple trick to measuring brown sugar.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States