Brown Sugar and Spice Dry Ham Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Sweet, crispy, perfection! There was more than enough rub for my 10 pound half ham. This is definitely going in my permanent recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Very good!! You can even cut the sugar in 1/2 and it's still good as a seasoning for smoked ham :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
My husband loved this rub, my kids also are fans of this recipe. My advice is to turn up the heat about 400-450, otherwise it is way to hot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Awesome, awesome rub! I, too, was short of pumpkin pie spice so I combine cinnamon and nutmeg in equal parts and ground cloves and allspice in a dash. This coated my 10 lb ham heavily and, as it cooked, the rub and the juices of the ham combined to form a heavenly sauce that I skimmed the fat off of and served on the side with the ham and mashed potatoes. Will definitely use this rub the next time I do ham!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This recipe is absolutely THE BEST! We loved it! Used a spiral sliced ham. I coated it with the rub thickly then placed it face down on a rack in shallow roasting pan. Never covered it and it was wonderful and not dry very much like the famous ham stores, only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
It was good but I didn't experience the "crust" as others have, even following the 550, down to 325 as directed. I probably wouldn't make it again, as I prefer more of a fruity sweetness. I'm finding it hard to use this ham in leftovers because of the distinct brown sugar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Cooked at 550 for 20 minutes, then covered and cooked the remaining time as per package. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I didn't have any dry mustard so I used about a tbs.(maybe more)of dijon mustard instead. It made more of a paste that I rubbed on the ham. Loved this, will be using this recipe from now on. I'll be sure to pick up dry mustard to try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I tried this on my Christmas ham and it was delicious! I didn't have dry mustard so I simply omitted it and it was still really good. I purchased a sliced ham, but the rub in between each slice and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I don't want to "mess with" the ratings for this particular recipe as is, but I do have some feedback that I think may help others trying this recipe in the future. I, like many users of allrecipes.com, read a recipe, read some (if not all) of the reviews to get ideas on how to tweak the recipe, and then just go for it! In this case I was working with not having the pumpkin pie spice or all the ingredients to make my own. So I took the advice of another reviewer and tried garam masala in place of the pie spice. I also followed another reviewer's suggestion and basted the ham with a basic yellow mustard before putting the rub on (in other words "under" the rub). I also followed the additional cooking recommendations that the recipe's author added under the reviews to kind of crisp the outside of the ham and seal in the juices before the low temperature cooking (cook on 550 degrees for first 20 minutes) instead of having to cover the ham. The results: 1) DON'T ATTEMPT THIS IF YOU DO NOT HAVE AN OVERHEAD FAN FOR YOUR RANGE (LOL, we are in a rental cottage and quickly discovered how loud the smoke detector is! I'm glad it works!) 2) With that adventure behind me and the ham finished cooking, I am happy to say that the flavor of the outer/encrusted pieces of ham were FANTASTIC! We were fighting over who got those pieces! Thanks for a fun and delicious cooking adventure and good luck to you other adventurers out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Measure Brown Sugar

See the simple trick to measuring brown sugar.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States