Brown Sugar and Port Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
So good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I'm giving this version 4 stars. It is good but to make it better use a tawny port bringing out the flavor of the brown sugar more and give it caramel notes. I like Cockburns' 20 Year Tawny Port. 1/2 cup is more than plenty for the port. I also found a teaspoon of McCormick's Valencia Orange Peel did quite well instead of fresh zest. In place of a fresh orange you can use 1/2 cup orange juice. Also, put the ingredients other than the cranberries in the pot stir until the sugar dissolves. After rinsing the cranberries put them in the pot over medium heat. Stir periodically and be aware it will bubble up so a 2 3/4 quart pan worked best. I also found it best to let all the berries pop and this can take about an hour in the uncovered pot. This also helps burn off the alcohol but leaves the rich port flavor. Make at least one night before you want to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Beal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was very good. It had too much orange taste for me. Everything else was just right. Next time I will just add a little less of the orange zest and a little water instead of the orange juice for my taste. Everyone loved it! Thanks for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I love love this recipe! It's great alone or I put it on a block of cream cheese and sprinkled candied pecans on top & served with crackers. People went crazy for it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was great. I didn't think the difference between white and dk brown sugar would be that big, but that maple-y flavor of the dk brown sugar, the orange and wine make these cranberries delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This sauce was amazing! It was great to make a few days before Thanksgiving and keep in the fridge. The flavor was robust and a wonderful gourmet substitution for canned sauce. A must have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney FiveCent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
this is excellent! the ruby port gives it a nice twist. Just the right balance of sugar to tart too. I used 1/2 cup white and 1/4 brown. left everything else as is. I like a more solid sauce so I cooked it down and it set up beautifully. Not too solid but not runny either. I can see where this would be divine over a round of brie for the holidays. thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
The flavor is very good. It's just a little on the tart side for me, though. I added a dash of vanilla but otherwise kept the recipe the same. I used ruby port but wonder how the tawny would work since it's a bit sweeter. I may try that next as I love the flavor of port, and homemade sauce is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I wish I could have given this sauce 5 stars but felt that it came under that. I think that the sauce had too much port wine taste therefore adding to it's acidity and contributed to a lack of smooth taste. I've made cranberry sauce in the past which contained port wine that was marvelous, but unfortunately I can't find the recipe. I'll keep looking though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANTASKMANJAR

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States