Brown Sugar and Port Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I made this as a Thanksgiving appetizer and served it over a round of brie warmed in the oven for about 20 mins. It was excellent. The leftover sauce was fabulous with our turkey and great on our sandwiches the next day. Extremely easy to make, and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is a delicious sauce. The orange and port really bring out the fruitiness of the cranberry flavor, and the amount of sugar is just right for a tart/sweet balance. I've tried it with both brown and white sugar -- with white sugar it is a little lighter, and you want about a tablespoon less of port (half a cup instead of 9 tablespoons). It's tasty both ways, but a brighter color if you use white sugar and ruby port.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by meg
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was so good; I've never made cranberry sauce from scratch before... but it was so easy. I will never eat cranberry sauce out of a can again. The sauce only took about 10 minutes to thicken for me. I reserved about 1/2 cup of the cranberries and soaked them in hot sugar water. I put them in the sauce after it was done. The red of the whole berries really popped against the dark color of the sauce. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I wish I could have given this sauce 5 stars but felt that it came under that. I think that the sauce had too much port wine taste therefore adding to it's acidity and contributed to a lack of smooth taste. I've made cranberry sauce in the past which contained port wine that was marvelous, but unfortunately I can't find the recipe. I'll keep looking though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANTASKMANJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
The flavor is very good. It's just a little on the tart side for me, though. I added a dash of vanilla but otherwise kept the recipe the same. I used ruby port but wonder how the tawny would work since it's a bit sweeter. I may try that next as I love the flavor of port, and homemade sauce is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
this is excellent! the ruby port gives it a nice twist. Just the right balance of sugar to tart too. I used 1/2 cup white and 1/4 brown. left everything else as is. I like a more solid sauce so I cooked it down and it set up beautifully. Not too solid but not runny either. I can see where this would be divine over a round of brie for the holidays. thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This sauce was amazing! It was great to make a few days before Thanksgiving and keep in the fridge. The flavor was robust and a wonderful gourmet substitution for canned sauce. A must have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was great. I didn't think the difference between white and dk brown sugar would be that big, but that maple-y flavor of the dk brown sugar, the orange and wine make these cranberries delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I love love this recipe! It's great alone or I put it on a block of cream cheese and sprinkled candied pecans on top & served with crackers. People went crazy for it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States