Brown Sugar and Mustard Ham Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Easy and delicious glaze for ham. I added a bit more mustard as it was too thick and somewhat grainy as you can see in the photo. It cooked down to a nice syrup though and this is definitely a keeper as this used only 2 ingredients and I always have these on hand! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Simple and lovely. Don't shy away from this one eve though it's not at all complicated. I did this recipe as a part of the Western Region's Faceless Frenzy July 2012.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Not bad for when you need to whip up a fast glaze. I used Dijon mustard, because I thought regular mustard would be too tart and kill all the sweetness from the brown sugar, I was right not to use it. Not something to write home about but it does the job when your in a bind. Could use some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. T. Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Libby, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Tonight was my first time making ham and I was looking for a simple mustardy glaze -- I decided to take a chance on this one! It's exactly the right blend of salty and sweet, everyone at our dinner party LOVED it! I only made one adjustment, which was to add about 2 teaspoons of maple syrup, just because the original recipe wasn't quite liquidy enough to glaze the ham. Will definitely make this one again!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was an easy to prepare glaze for ham, and I did make a variation (as well as using Dijon mustard as other reviewers have suggested). I used a small ham and a larger baking dish, and after glazing, some of the glaze slid to the bottom of the dish and stood a good chance of burning. My Mom suggested adding some orange juice to the baking dish, which I did (enough to cover the bottom) and not only did it prevent burning but it made a delicious sauce for the ham! Next time, the oj is part of the recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I used 2 Tbs Dijon mustard, and 1 Tbs regular. Also added a dash of each ground cloves and nutmeg, and a generous dash of cinnamon. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Used regular mustard and it was absolutely delicious! The whole family loved it and begged for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfool!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was easy and delicious. I added some pineapple juice, which made it very sweet, but I simply added more mustard to even out the flavor. A definite do-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaymac27

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
We really liked this. Might try a different mustard next time (the regular mustard had quite a bite to it) but was still yummy and very quick to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe today for Thanksgiving for a spiral ham. It is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Measure Brown Sugar

See the simple trick to measuring brown sugar.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

How to Make Brown Butter Sauce

Learn this easy way to make brown butter sauce and a simple sole meuniere.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States