Brown Sugar Spiced Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
These were great! I made 1 batch to see what they'd be like and about a half an hour later my Grandemother asked me to make more! My Grandma is notoriously picky so when she asked for more I knew they were a hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
pretty good...easy to make...I pressed the dough into a rectangle on the cooky sheet & cut into small rectangles...a good "not to sweet" treat...recipe doesn't make very many
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was sooo yummy, both my 6 year old and myself couldn't keep hands off. A couple of things... first, when I mixed it up, I thought it was a bad recipe because it was dry and crumbly for me, no way I could roll this out, but then I pressed it in a round pan and it baked up beautifully and it was so yum. Make sure and bake it long enough, it tastes better to me a bit crunchy even though I am a lover of soft cookies. This serving size is a little bit ridiculous. 16 slices of this and a mouse would enjoy one slice. ha ha. So, plan on eating 2 skinny slices at once! I will try whole wheat flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
These are pretty good! I added some nutmeg, a splash of vanilla and a pinch of salt. Nice flavor. It could have been a wee bit sweeter perhaps? One of those feelings that something is missing. Not sure, but they are pretty good the way they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Voth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mezzofortay
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
It turned out perfect! I love the "melt-in-your-mouth" texture and my colleagues thought I bought them from stores. Agree with the other reviewer that its not really spiced though, can consider adding more spice to it. I added All Spice and a little bit of cinnamon and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezzofortay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
I made it and it disappeard at the speed of light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
These are devine - first shortbread I could get to work - I made mine with whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This was nice shortbread, but did not taste particularly "spiced" to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ambie S
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Just made these and they taste delicious! The dough was sturdy enough too for cutting into shapes which was nice and after baking they were not crumbly like so many shortbread recipes. Didn't make much though so may be a good one to double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Very good recipe... the flavor is nice. I added an extra tbs. of brown sugar, and an extra tsp. of cinnamon. All and all,a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galesburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States