Brown Sugar Spiced Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
My son had to take a Scottish food to school for a project. These were a well liked food by the 4th grade class.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I added 1/4 tsp each of ground cloves and fresh-ground nutmeg (I like spices! :); it tasted good, but the cookies came out very dry and more crumbly than I think shortbread should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Kind of bland. I might try adding more sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
It tastes great. I just have a question, do we have to melt the butter before mixing it into the dough? I just had a hard time getting the dough to be smooth enough to be rolled out with a rolling pin without crumbling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was sooo yummy, both my 6 year old and myself couldn't keep hands off. A couple of things... first, when I mixed it up, I thought it was a bad recipe because it was dry and crumbly for me, no way I could roll this out, but then I pressed it in a round pan and it baked up beautifully and it was so yum. Make sure and bake it long enough, it tastes better to me a bit crunchy even though I am a lover of soft cookies. This serving size is a little bit ridiculous. 16 slices of this and a mouse would enjoy one slice. ha ha. So, plan on eating 2 skinny slices at once! I will try whole wheat flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
took longer to cook and had no flavor even after adding more cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Great cookies! i added clove and allspice for an extra kick- and it's perfect with tea or coffee. I plan on making these again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I first time I made these I was a bit disappointed but I was determined to try them again and change them a bit. Instead of cinnamon I added nutmeg and 1/4 cup finely chopped pecans. I also used self-rising flour (by accident) and liked how they turned out. I like nutmeg better than cinnamon and with the pecans it was all a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
OH MY GOSH delicious!!! added more sugar and spices for fun.... very good. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Just tried this recipe and even for so-so bakers like me, it turned out great! Lovely, light and delicious. I did add just a sprinkle of suger over the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States