Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Made these for a Super Bowl party and everyone loved them! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I plan to try this ASAP. I have one suggestion. When I use little smokies, I boil the amount that I am going to use for a few minutes. This eliminate extra fat. It also makes them very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I made these yesterday for our Superbowl party. I did put them - individually wrapped with a toothpick through each one, on a cookie cooling rack so the grease could fall through...kind of like a George Foreman grille. It worked perfectly and with the foil below, cleanup was a snap. 45 minutes in the oven at 350. And while the rack was a mess, with a little hot water, it too was clean as a whistle. I would have to admit, these are not the healthiest treats! Salt, Preservative, Sugar and Fat...Yum...about the only thing worth eating was the tooth pick!! But, none the less, they were all gone in a flash. And I have to say they were just as good cold as hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
These were soooo delicious. They disappeared quickly at my superbowl party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Loved the flavor but made a mess while cooking. Couldn't get the bacon to crisp up, so pulled out the smokies and laid the bacon flat to crisp, but ended up with blackened bacon. Not sure what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I followed the reviews that suggested broiling on the middle rack for 15-20 mins and flipping halfway through which worked perfectly. This crisped the bacon up nicely. These were delicious little crowd pleasers! Some people liked mustard on the side. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made these tonight and they were a hit with the family. I will say that the smokies that got a little bit darker were the better tasting ones. New party food recipe!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Harris Fulk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made these for our Super Bowl Gathering. GO Seahawks! They were juicey, sweet and crispy! I served them on a bed of Baby Arugula with no dipping sauce. These are a great finger food and taste-wise stand on their own. The perfect football party food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I'm glad I read other reviews before making these. THE COOKING RACK IS A MUST!!!! I also highly recommend soaking the skewers in water for about 10 min. if you choose to use those. I wrapped the smokies in the bacon, and then rolled them in brown sugar before putting them on the skewers. Then, I sprinkled more brown sugar over them after putting them on the rack. Don't forget to put foil under the rack as well. I baked them for 30 min. at 350, then I flipped them, raised the temp to 400 and baked another 15 min. No broiler time necessary. They came out crispy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
i have made these before, I love the little smokies, but I buy the light little smokies, a few less calorie's but not missed, less greasy, I use turkey bacon (don't omg me) I cut bacon in thirds, coat with brown sugar, then with a paper towel micro wave them until they are half done, but still rollable, with that grease left behind on paper towels, add more brown sugar and use the oven to heat the lite smokies, sorry about how long, I just an eye on them, until hot, then put broiler and turn them once to finish the crisping of the turkey, a lot less grease, every body loves them, the woman even like them, I tell them the less calories, the men inhale them, haven't had a complaint, they are glued to the game, and a few beers, they have never asked that they taste different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States