Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I made this for a New Years party and it was the first dish to sell out! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This recipe makes a lot of weenies! I had some difficulty sprinkling the brown sugar so that it wouldn't cook and burn on the pan. I would recommend cooking at a higher temperature, 400 degrees, so as to crisp up the bacon quicker. My husband liked them, but my son and I felt that we were eating something really decadent due to the protein and fat content. I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
If you want your local fire department to come to your home, then broil them. Seriously, they looked better before I turned up the heat half-way through the cooking process. I nearly caught the house on fire by turning on the broler. So, please, skip it. Just bake them in a medium 350 degree oven as suggested. They were a little bit charred, but still tasted good. Good "dude food" for the game. Make again! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by mrsman***
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Loved this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I feel like it's missing something . It's a little to greasy. It needs bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I did not care for these. I thought they were to tough and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie Haney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I made this for 12 men at pool league. Needless to say the cooker came home empty! Instead of using just brown sugar, I incorporated Wynne's Spiced Bacon Twist recipe spices (also a recipe to die for) and upped the cayenne to a rounded quarter teaspoon for a tad more kick. Made them the night before in the oven. Popped them in the slow cooker and the day of heated them through a couple hours on low. Two batches made half a 5 quart slow cooker. Next time I will quadruple this recipe for a full slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jehanson
Living In: Erie, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
there great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Watts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Made this yumminess for the SuperBowl and it was amazing. There were just three of us, but almost all of these were GONE. I followed the recipe but used regular bacon, partially frozen for ease of cutting. The amount of bacon matched the amount of smokies perfectly. I coated both sides of the bacon in dark brown sugar before wrapping and assembled all of them - no toothpicks needed - in 20 minutes. Very messy. The brown sugar seemed to melt off in enough time, so I applied a light dusting when I took them out of the oven for turning. I lined a roasting pan with foil and used a disposable grill rack I found. I also used soaked, long disposable bamboo skewers and threaded the doggies on that, as per the video. The double side of sugar "glued" the bacon on, although a few became loose. I cooked for 30 minutes at 350 and then blasted them for 10 mins at 40 to crisp up the bacon. The bacon didn't get super crispy as I had to take them out because the sugar drippings started to burn on the bottom of the pan. I might try give them a shot under the broiler at the end next time. These were DELICIOUS. We kept giggling and making happy noises as we ate them, they were so darn good. Will make again ~ FOR SURE. Perhaps will try some cayenne with the brown sugar next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This simple recipe is delicious, but you can't eat too many, they are so rich. Would be great for any party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States