Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made these tonight and they were a hit with the family. I will say that the smokies that got a little bit darker were the better tasting ones. New party food recipe!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Harris Fulk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made these for our Super Bowl Gathering. GO Seahawks! They were juicey, sweet and crispy! I served them on a bed of Baby Arugula with no dipping sauce. These are a great finger food and taste-wise stand on their own. The perfect football party food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I'm glad I read other reviews before making these. THE COOKING RACK IS A MUST!!!! I also highly recommend soaking the skewers in water for about 10 min. if you choose to use those. I wrapped the smokies in the bacon, and then rolled them in brown sugar before putting them on the skewers. Then, I sprinkled more brown sugar over them after putting them on the rack. Don't forget to put foil under the rack as well. I baked them for 30 min. at 350, then I flipped them, raised the temp to 400 and baked another 15 min. No broiler time necessary. They came out crispy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
i have made these before, I love the little smokies, but I buy the light little smokies, a few less calorie's but not missed, less greasy, I use turkey bacon (don't omg me) I cut bacon in thirds, coat with brown sugar, then with a paper towel micro wave them until they are half done, but still rollable, with that grease left behind on paper towels, add more brown sugar and use the oven to heat the lite smokies, sorry about how long, I just an eye on them, until hot, then put broiler and turn them once to finish the crisping of the turkey, a lot less grease, every body loves them, the woman even like them, I tell them the less calories, the men inhale them, haven't had a complaint, they are glued to the game, and a few beers, they have never asked that they taste different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I have made these for years and I never have any leftovers. I use thin sliced bacon and that way you don't have to use toothpicks. I also roll the smokies in brown sugar before wrapping in bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. What I have found is that little smokies end up swimming in the fat that melts off the bacon as it cooks. I've tried pre-cooking the bacon to cook off the fat and wrapping it around the smokies while it is still soft. However, I still find the fat a problem. I have not tried putting them on a rack. Has anyone tried this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
We make these in the smoker at 250 for a couple hours. Love the smoke flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KLWeston
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made these for Super Bowl Sunday and they did not disappoint. Perfect mix of sweet and salty with a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLWeston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
FANTACTIC! Made them for my son's HS football banquet (2 platters) and they were wiped out. Making them again tonight for the Super Bowl! Used center cut bacon as some other have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I haven't made these in a long time, but I always put a tablespoon of dry mustard in with the brown sugar. Gives it a nice zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndell Magnin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States