Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
I've made this a couple times before and they always taste amazing! I cut the bacon into halves lengthwise instead of thirds and press them in sugar before wrapping them around sausages, using more than the recipe recommends. I put them 5 pieces to a skewer and use a pan with taller sides so I can place the skewers across the pan without the sausages actually touching the pan so the grease doesn't affect the bacon's crispiness. When I baked them, I used the recommended 350 degrees and baked them without flipping them over for 20 minutes, checking on them every five until the ends of the sausages are brown (originally more red) but not burnt. amazing recipe! thanks for the idea tina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena Pao

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
Always a big hit, with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessmalally

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
These are excellent, however, it'll take you longer than 10 mins to wrap an entire pack of smokies. Great appetizer that everyone will love. I usually have to make two pans because they go so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I put these in the crockpot for 3.5 hours on high. They weren't crispy. I picked them out of their grease and put on a plate to serve. They get a lot of grease in the crockpot. They probably would have been excellent if I put them in the oven to crisp them when I removed them from the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
I had to try this because it had so many great reviews. It's a simple recipe but tastes as good as everyone says. I'll make this frequently for parties and get-togethers. It is messy to make but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
I've made these often although I sprinkle a little cayenne over the brown sugar that gives a little zip. My family calls this "meat crack" because it's so addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
These were amazing! Everyone at the party loved them from age 2 through 50! Only change I made was upping the temperature after the initial 10 minutes at 350 to 400. This made them crisp up perfectly. I cooked mine for about 25 minutes total. Also, if you use wooden (bamboo) skewers, you don't need to spray them with non-stick spray first. The bacon provides plenty of grease to slide off. However, I would advise lining a glass baking pan in foil and then spraying the foil with non-stick spray before laying the little brown sugar piglets on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I had bacon left over so I dbl wrapped some. Used tooth picks and baked with brown sugar at 350 for 45 minutes and turned 3 times in the process then broiled for 3 minutes at 475...about a minute too long but oh well. Still tastey! Oh and it wasn't messy at all. My cutting board had to be washed and I soaked my pan for about thirty minutes. Didn't use foil. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
These were a big hit at my party, and they were extremely easy to make. Cheap also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I made these per the original recipe for a party. They disappeared fast! Everyone raved about them. I will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Drew

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,610) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States