Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Waaay to sweet for me, and my husband never went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I add garlic powder & onion powder & cook them at 325 degrees until the sugar is melted & bacon is crimping up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I found this recipe on the last page of Allrecipes magazine last week, I must live a sheltered life because I had never heard of this recipe before. Following the recipe in the magazine, baking for almost an hour, mine turned out way over done, almost burned. My husband however eats everything and ate the whole batch while watching Brady play for Patriot's glory. I made the other half of the package last night and followed the recipe but cut the time down to 35 minutes. I also put 8 of these little guy on long wooden picks, easier to turn, just slide the off when done and serve with toothpicks on the side. I might add that cutting the time down my bacon was still crispy. I know my oven is calibrated correctly because I have no problem with other recipes. Much better the second time around, I skipped the sauce too and didn't miss it at all. This is a real keeper appetizer, especially since it can be made ahead of time and baked before guest even arrive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
It's great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
The best thing I've ever put in my mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Solis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Made exactly as written. I had tried a version at a party the week before, which were fabulous! Just figured this was the same recipe. Not. To get the bacon crispy enough, it burned the sugar. They were not great. I asked her today for her recipe, and for 1 lb of bacon and smokies, she uses 2 cups of brown sugar and 1 stick of melted butter. OK, now this is sounding good! My sons will be in heaven w/ bacon, brown sugar, smokies AND butter. Yes, I know this is not healthy, but that is not the issue here. Mix the butter w/ 1 cup of sugar and pour over wrapped smokies. Sprinkle the rest of the sugar over all. I can also see how some suggestions to make ahead and let marinate would work. The sugar would most likely melt more. Ours were too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I made these for an appetizer for my family Christmas this year-gone in the first 15 minutes...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Fantastic For Parties. Love 'Em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
These are a hit every time! I probably use way more brown sugar then the recipe calls for. I do put them together the night before, and soak them in brown sugar. Then I put them on a plate with lots of paper towel and microwave them for a minute or two. Next I put them on a wire cooling rack that is sprayed with cooking spray over a foil lined baking sheet, use the brown sugar marinade from the overnight soak and coat them, and then bake them for 5-10 minutes. Then I switch the oven to broil, and broil both sides until the bacon is nice and crispy! It is a bit time consuming, but I hate under cooked bacon and always get loads of compliments. I also serve it with with the dipping sauce someone else suggested - 1/4 cup mayo, 1/4 cup red chili sauce, and a 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Make this ahead of time too so that the sauce has time to meld together. And you may have to coax people into trying the sauce, but the combination is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
These are very good and so easy to make!!! I have made them a couple times and both times they were the first food gone. I am asked all the time to make some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States