Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I put these in the crockpot for 3.5 hours on high. They weren't crispy. I picked them out of their grease and put on a plate to serve. They get a lot of grease in the crockpot. They probably would have been excellent if I put them in the oven to crisp them when I removed them from the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
I had to try this because it had so many great reviews. It's a simple recipe but tastes as good as everyone says. I'll make this frequently for parties and get-togethers. It is messy to make but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
I've made these often although I sprinkle a little cayenne over the brown sugar that gives a little zip. My family calls this "meat crack" because it's so addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
These were amazing! Everyone at the party loved them from age 2 through 50! Only change I made was upping the temperature after the initial 10 minutes at 350 to 400. This made them crisp up perfectly. I cooked mine for about 25 minutes total. Also, if you use wooden (bamboo) skewers, you don't need to spray them with non-stick spray first. The bacon provides plenty of grease to slide off. However, I would advise lining a glass baking pan in foil and then spraying the foil with non-stick spray before laying the little brown sugar piglets on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I had bacon left over so I dbl wrapped some. Used tooth picks and baked with brown sugar at 350 for 45 minutes and turned 3 times in the process then broiled for 3 minutes at 475...about a minute too long but oh well. Still tastey! Oh and it wasn't messy at all. My cutting board had to be washed and I soaked my pan for about thirty minutes. Didn't use foil. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
These were a big hit at my party, and they were extremely easy to make. Cheap also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I made these per the original recipe for a party. They disappeared fast! Everyone raved about them. I will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Drew
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Made these for a couple of SuperBowls and they NEVER last! They disappear after no more than 5 minutes. Once, they got grabbed as soon as I pulled them out of the oven! They are now popular by request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanimaniac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imperial Beach, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Made these when we had company coming over, and they were a hit! I'd even say they were a homerun. I baked them at 350 for about 50 minutes on a dark baking tray, flipping them about halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
These were a big hit. Gone in minutes! Next time, I will turn them once to assure more even bacon crisping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States