Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 23)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Made these for a gathering. Easy. They went fast. A perfect finger food. I served them on toothpicks. Broiled them for a just a bit when I put the brown sugar on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was delicious, my husband devoured it. I dipped the bacon in the brown sugar on both sides first before rolling around the smokies, and put together individually with toothpicks instead of skewers. I then very lightly sprinkled some brown sugar. I baked about 20 minutes on each side, and broiled for a few minutes at the end. I used a broiler pan with the rack so that the smokies would not sit in all that fat. It came out great, and stayed delicious all evening in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
The men loved these! I skewered with toothpicks and ended up turning up the heat to broil to crisp the bacon. Flipped them to get both sides crisped. I prefer pigs in a blanket, but the guys overruled me! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Family always asks when I am going to make "meat candy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Amazing!! My daughter said "Do we have to tell anyone we made these? We could just eat them all ourselves!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Donald, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These lil things are just ssooo good!! I always make a double batch and never have any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Huge winner at a hang out with snacks. Followed other reviews to use brown sugar on inside and out. After 10 min broiling on high mid level in oven, I flipped, then added maple syrup on the new side (works better for staying on while basting than the powdered version with brown sugar). Made the dipping sauce which was eaten with the second batch as other reviewers noted: 1/4 c mayo, 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/4 c Rooster sauce (we like it hot, I started with just 2 Tbsp but guests wanted more). Refrigerated sauce for 1 hr to let flavors blend. Gone in less than 10 min for each tray. I will double next time the amount of bacon, because I got an approximate 1:1 ratio of lil smokies to bacon slicing the pieces in thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
So easy and so delicious. Grandson who is 5 years old said, "these are awesome" and proceeded to make them dinner rather than an appetizer. Don't need a dipping sauce to ruin their delicate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Vick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
these are delisious!!!!!! omg i love these they are the best ever! simple recipes, and very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
So easy, first thing gone on Christmas Eve. will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine Hobbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kinston, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 221-230 (of 1,528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States