Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 23)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These are a hit everytime I make them! I do use pepper bacon & do toss the smokies in a bowl with the brown sugar before I wrap them. After they are wrapped I sprinkle addtional brown sugar on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These are even better if you use a peppered bacon! First thing that disappears at parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Delicious! I only got to eat one because my boyfriend and his family quickly devoured the rest!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I have made these for years. My son came home in grade school raving about them from another parents' house. I am always asked to make these, and if I don't, I get chastised at the family gatherings :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I've never made them with lil' smokies but I have used brown and serve sausages. You do the exactly the same thing. Roll each sausage in half slice of bacon, roll them in brown sugar. Bake them at 400 degrees for 20 minutes or until the bacon is crisp. It's great for breakfast. I make them for Christmas brunch and my family eats them all thru the day until they are gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MZPKPHILLIPS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
easy yummy snack for a group! Make sure you remove them from the pan immediately and serve hot. They wont make it long :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linley1120

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I attempted to make these lil smokies but i had a problem with the brown sugar burning. Not sure what im doing wrong as i have followed the directions. After reading many of the reviews i am not doing anything different. Is it the cookie sheet i using? The smokies that werent burned were delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMay
Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is my staple appy for Christmas. We call it meat candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I make a version of this...instead of sprinkling the brown sugar on top I dredge the bacon in brown sugar making sure to get a lot on both sides...then I wrap the bacon around the little smokies and skewer them and bake them. That way you have the brown sugar glaze on both sides of the bacon-I was told they were more like candy than sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Wow, never thought smokies would be on my list of appetizers but these are amazing... The trick is to roll with the bacon the night before and right before putting in the oven roll in the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by producechic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 221-230 (of 1,512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States