Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 22)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
We do not like limp bacon, so we won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
These were the Thanksgiving day hit! I put them on a roasting pan for an hour at 350. The crystallized brown sugar was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
These are fantastic! At my house we call it "Man Candy." I actually dredge both sides of the bacon in the brown sugar before wrapping it around the smokies and then sprinkle the remaining brown sugar over the top before baking. I also cook them on the broiler pan so any grease drips away. They come out crispy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made this recipe for the first time on New Year's Eve a year ago. I can't tell you how many times I've been asked to make it again. They are RIDICULOUSLY DELICIOUS! You really can't mess them up either - even if you burn them they are still yummy. After I secure these things with toothpicks I throw them in a large ziplock and toss in the brown sugar, then let it marinate overnight. I baste them with the leftover sugar syrup in the bag right before I bake them. Following someone elses directions, I bake these for 45 minutes on a lower temp and then up the heat for the last 15 minutes. I think it totally depends on the temperament of your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This is one of my go to crowd pleasing appetizers. I've been making this for years but with MAPLE bacon. I give it 5 stars with the maple bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I make this but I also poor honey on before the brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Vilinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
The bacon and sausage together are a lot of animal fat. Overall a great party food. Being generous with the brown sugar enhanced the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
These should be illegal.... Since my first batch of these, Smokies and bacon have become staples in my kitchen.... I've also learned better than to brag on them to the neighbors. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crystal Springs, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was very very good! I made 3 trays of them and they were gone in an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ionia, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 211-220 (of 1,599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States