Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 22)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I make these all the time but use the pre-cooked bacon cut in half! Makes the cooking time shorter and the clean-up a heck of a lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
So Yummy! Definitely don't skimp on the brown sugar if anything next time I might add a little extra the sweet-salty combination is delicious. Unfortunately, at my own fault, I made these with a really tasty bacon wrapped tater tot appetizer and the two bacon appetizers was just too much bacon, in the future I will stick to one at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinklady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I wish I could give this a positive review..but just can't! This recipe takes much effort and makes quite a mess. Someone suggested using a broiler pan to allow bacon grease to drip through--however, I tried this and it was not effective. The brown sugar dripped through, as well as the grease from the bacon, which caused it to burn my pan. My oven was smoking! Not to mention, the bacon does not stay wrapped around the sausages. I had to transfer to a cookie sheet. They need to be turned over- as they will burn on the bottom and not be done on the top--this is difficult when the bacon is coming apart from the sausages. It is not an easy recipe and was quite time consuming..ruined a pan, and then the end product was not that great--good flavor, but the pan is a sticky greasy mess, even with a liner of foil/parchment paper. Then you have to transfer these weinies into yet another pan to serve! Lots of a hassle! They were also waaaay to sweet..as I used the recommendations from others about sprinking more brown sugar on top.. I am not sure the crock pot would be a good method..as the grease would stay in the pan..so I just don't think this is a good recipe. I spent way too much time on this, only to throw it away before leaving for a NYE party..had to order pizza and bring that..and make a quick dip. :( Not good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made these last night for New Year's Eve and my family RAVED about them! They were seriously gone in 60 seconds! I baked them at 350 for about 20 minutes, but needed to finish them off in the broiler because the bacon was still not crispy and the brown sugar wasn't quite melted. These will definitely be added to my hot appetizer repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These little beauties were a huge hit. They tasted great and it was so easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Awesome! Made for New Year's Eve and everyone loved them. I increased to 425 for the last 5 minutes because the bacon did not seem to be getting done. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Tomski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Made these for a gathering. Easy. They went fast. A perfect finger food. I served them on toothpicks. Broiled them for a just a bit when I put the brown sugar on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was delicious, my husband devoured it. I dipped the bacon in the brown sugar on both sides first before rolling around the smokies, and put together individually with toothpicks instead of skewers. I then very lightly sprinkled some brown sugar. I baked about 20 minutes on each side, and broiled for a few minutes at the end. I used a broiler pan with the rack so that the smokies would not sit in all that fat. It came out great, and stayed delicious all evening in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
The men loved these! I skewered with toothpicks and ended up turning up the heat to broil to crisp the bacon. Flipped them to get both sides crisped. I prefer pigs in a blanket, but the guys overruled me! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Family always asks when I am going to make "meat candy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 211-220 (of 1,524) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States