Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made these last night for New Year's Eve and my family RAVED about them! They were seriously gone in 60 seconds! I baked them at 350 for about 20 minutes, but needed to finish them off in the broiler because the bacon was still not crispy and the brown sugar wasn't quite melted. These will definitely be added to my hot appetizer repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
These little beauties were a huge hit. They tasted great and it was so easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Awesome! Made for New Year's Eve and everyone loved them. I increased to 425 for the last 5 minutes because the bacon did not seem to be getting done. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Made these for a gathering. Easy. They went fast. A perfect finger food. I served them on toothpicks. Broiled them for a just a bit when I put the brown sugar on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was delicious, my husband devoured it. I dipped the bacon in the brown sugar on both sides first before rolling around the smokies, and put together individually with toothpicks instead of skewers. I then very lightly sprinkled some brown sugar. I baked about 20 minutes on each side, and broiled for a few minutes at the end. I used a broiler pan with the rack so that the smokies would not sit in all that fat. It came out great, and stayed delicious all evening in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
The men loved these! I skewered with toothpicks and ended up turning up the heat to broil to crisp the bacon. Flipped them to get both sides crisped. I prefer pigs in a blanket, but the guys overruled me! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Family always asks when I am going to make "meat candy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Amazing!! My daughter said "Do we have to tell anyone we made these? We could just eat them all ourselves!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Donald, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These lil things are just ssooo good!! I always make a double batch and never have any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Huge winner at a hang out with snacks. Followed other reviews to use brown sugar on inside and out. After 10 min broiling on high mid level in oven, I flipped, then added maple syrup on the new side (works better for staying on while basting than the powdered version with brown sugar). Made the dipping sauce which was eaten with the second batch as other reviewers noted: 1/4 c mayo, 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/4 c Rooster sauce (we like it hot, I started with just 2 Tbsp but guests wanted more). Refrigerated sauce for 1 hr to let flavors blend. Gone in less than 10 min for each tray. I will double next time the amount of bacon, because I got an approximate 1:1 ratio of lil smokies to bacon slicing the pieces in thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 1,501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States