Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
These are fabulous and so easy. Thanks for sharing! In an attempt to make them healthier, I used Turkey Little Smokies and Center Cut Bacon. They were just as good, and what I especially liked was the fact that they had a lot less grease and were a lot less messy! We decided to have a "healthy" Super Bowl party this year, and these were a huge hit. Not one left....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I made these for the Superbowl tonight and they were devoured! I took the recommendation of other reviewers and let the bacon wrapped smokies "marinate" in the brown sugar overnight. When I was ready to cook them, I lined them on a slotted pan (to allow for the fat to drip off) and cooked them for about an hour. They were delightfully simple & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This is a good recipe, BUT there are some KEY CHANGES that need to be made...First, line the baking sheet with wax paper. The brown sugar combined with the grease is extremely hard to get off of the baking sheet. Second, for easy service, hold each piece of bacon on the little smokie with a toothpick and set them up on the baking sheet. Third, it is important to note that it takes anywhere from 45 minutes to an hour to make these. For more information, check out http://inspiredminute.com/bacon-wrapped-little-smokies/. These are the perfect treat for a football game or any other get-together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Make these all the time. My family ask for them when we have our get togethers. Only thing different is I add a 1/2 stick of melted butter. THank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
my wife and I have been making these for years. My MIL actually had been making them for a while and that's how I heard about them. We've made these for MANY different events and they're always a real crowd pleaser. Seems each time we make them now we have to add more and more. My Wife started to add cayenne pepper to the brown sugar before covering the wrapped smokies. For each single batch (1C brown sugar) we add approx 2 TSP cayenne pepper powder. Mix well into brown sugar and then cover bacon wrapped smokies. Talk about a killer combo of sweet, crunchy, salty and a little kick of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sprink88
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
these are the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hundred, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Easy yummy goodness :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I make these at least once a month. I use a roasting rack in a pan covered in foil. (Foil is the key, huge mess without it). Your arms will thank me. Do all the same things with the toothpicks and brown sugar. The bacon seems to crisp up better without sitting in the grease. Save the bacon/sugar drippings for chicken wings. Another great thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Running2PortCharles
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Made as described however I used parchment paper to line my baking pan for easy clean up. Lil smokes turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Running2PortCharles

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
My husband and I made these this past X-mas and they were going FAST. My brother and sister-n-law then took them and hid them so they would have them for later. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 1,507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States