Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I've made this recipe a couple of times. It's easy to do and quick, although I find that using pre-cooked bacon works better and there's not as much grease. My family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I'm making them for my Super Bowl buffet. Usually have to make three batches. Everybody loves them. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
These are great! I have been making these for years... For a bit of texture & crunch... after I wrapped my smokies with bacon, I topped mine with a water chestnut and then sprinkle with the brown sugar. Bake @375 for 20 mins. or until bacon looks brown & crispy, Yum! P.S. I use parchment paper on my baking sheet for easy clean up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
TOTALLY AWESOME. WHAT MORE IS THERE TO SAY. EVERYONE LOVES THESE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I served this easy to prepare appetizer and everyone loved it. I did marinate everything overnight. I then baked in the oven & kept warm in the slow cooker for serving. One warning: don't use colored cocktail toothpicks. Some of the color leached onto the smokies making them look almost moldy! But it did not affect the taste at all. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious!!! They are like candy to me. I melt a stick of butter, then slowly stir in the brown sugar until I have a sugary, buttery paste. Then I brush the mixture onto the bacon-wrapped smokies. This will ensure a nice coating of brown sugar glaze on each smokie. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
The key is maple-flavored bacon and line the baking sheet with heavy duty aluminum foil to make clean up easy. In our circles I am asked to bring these to gatherings. They are known as "heaven on a stick".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
They are so good and so easy! I always need to double the recipe for family get gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrior, Alabama, USA
Living In: Trussville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This has become a staple at Christmas and Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winslow, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Hubby makes these and are sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States