Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This recipe is a HIT with everyone. I've made it twice for parties and it's been the only appetizer completely gone. I like to wrap the bacon on the smokies and pin them with toothpicks. Then I roll them in brown sugar, shake them off and let them sit in a bowl...overnight if possible. Remove, put them in the baking pan single layer and sprinkle with brown sugar again. Bake until the sugar is all melted and the bacon is crispy. Remove to a serving bowl and watch your fingers! One pack of smokies served about 10 people with 4-5 more apps. Made a double order and served about 16 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
These are always a hit and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Swampscott, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I loved these ,cooked them till well done on a cooling rack on a jelly roll tray so the fat drained away .Great little snacks .Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Should I use light brown sugar or dark?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was the hit on Christmas day, I made it as one of my appetizers. My husband and son loved them. I will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Served these at our Christmas party our guests loved them the salt and sweet flavour was a big hit. They are very easy to make and I make them earlier that day and reheated for the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I was the hit of our block Christmas party this year for bringing these!!! Everyone raved, and kept asking about what makes it sweet. The bacon brand makes a difference too... I used Benton's which I order online and arrives frozen. It's thick bacon so takes longer to cook. I used Hillshire Farm Turkey Lilt'l Sausages. I followed another review suggestion which was to microwave for a few minutes first, then bake, and finally out more sugar on and broil for just a few minutes... watch closely though as more than about 2-3 minutes of broil and you'll end up with burnt bacon. I came close, next time will only broil a minute then will flip them and broil another minute or two. Awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These almost didn't last long enough to take them to the party, I had to fend off my husband and housemate. Really tasty. Messy but simple to make. I used brown sugar bacon to start and the broiling pan was a good idea. Cooked for about 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Always a party hit! I've made this recipe for years. I like it, but it's crazy greasy and high in fat. The next time I make it I will try turkey lil smokies and turkey bacon. Wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These were a great hit. The only thing we did to help the bacon wrap a bit better was to stick it in the freezer for like half hour to help it 'firm' up a bit after cutting them up. By doing this, it seemed to help make it a bit easier to wrap that yummy bacon around it. Definately have this in my 'to do again' list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States