Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I have made these for years and I never have any leftovers. I use thin sliced bacon and that way you don't have to use toothpicks. I also roll the smokies in brown sugar before wrapping in bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. What I have found is that little smokies end up swimming in the fat that melts off the bacon as it cooks. I've tried pre-cooking the bacon to cook off the fat and wrapping it around the smokies while it is still soft. However, I still find the fat a problem. I have not tried putting them on a rack. Has anyone tried this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
We make these in the smoker at 250 for a couple hours. Love the smoke flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KLWeston
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made these for Super Bowl Sunday and they did not disappoint. Perfect mix of sweet and salty with a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLWeston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
FANTACTIC! Made them for my son's HS football banquet (2 platters) and they were wiped out. Making them again tonight for the Super Bowl! Used center cut bacon as some other have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I haven't made these in a long time, but I always put a tablespoon of dry mustard in with the brown sugar. Gives it a nice zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndell Magnin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I've made this recipe a couple of times. It's easy to do and quick, although I find that using pre-cooked bacon works better and there's not as much grease. My family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I'm making them for my Super Bowl buffet. Usually have to make three batches. Everybody loves them. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
These are great! I have been making these for years... For a bit of texture & crunch... after I wrapped my smokies with bacon, I topped mine with a water chestnut and then sprinkle with the brown sugar. Bake @375 for 20 mins. or until bacon looks brown & crispy, Yum! P.S. I use parchment paper on my baking sheet for easy clean up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
TOTALLY AWESOME. WHAT MORE IS THERE TO SAY. EVERYONE LOVES THESE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,532) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States