Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This a great recipe. I added a small can of crushed pineapple to the brown sugar and it made it even yummier! CJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Love the recipe, I add some cayenne pepper and chili powder to the brown sugar for some spice! Totally awesome...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
We all love these, but what I did was instead of putting the brown sugar on top, I mixed 1 cup of brown sugar with 1/2 cup mustard. After the smokies have baked in the oven I put them into the sauce, either in the slow cooker or in a sauce pan over low heat!!! Believe me, you will need to double or triple this one...Anyway you make them they are DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Don't forget the chili powder mixed in with the brown sugar. I use chipotle powder. PS, is anyone having problems with all kinds of pop ups on this site. Making me crazy and freezes my computer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Made these for a Super Bowl party and they were just as good as everyone said. We baked them at 375 degrees for 25 minutes. We sprinkled the brown sugar pretty generously. We baked them on a bakers half sheet pan lined with foil and used a rack to allow the grease to drip away from our bacon wrapped bundles of yumminess. We were lazy, so we didn't flip them at all. They came out fine and clean up was minimal. We also made the mayo and chili sauce dip that was mentioned in a previous review. We added a generous squirt of sriracha to give it a little snap. We couldn't turn them out fast enough. These were definitely the stars of the half-time show!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Schaffner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Easy and simple! I could have done even more brown sugar - don't think I went with the full amount, but they turned out delicious nonetheless. I wound up cooking for about 25 minutes, removing the grease from the ban and cooking for another 25 minutes or so. would definitely recommend using a rack to make sure your bacon stays crispy and doesn't cook in grease! great recipe and very simple - only 3 ingredients!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Waaay to sweet for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I add garlic powder & onion powder & cook them at 325 degrees until the sugar is melted & bacon is crimping up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I found this recipe on the last page of Allrecipes magazine last week, I must live a sheltered life because I had never heard of this recipe before. Following the recipe in the magazine, baking for almost an hour, mine turned out way over done, almost burned. My husband however eats everything and ate the whole batch while watching Brady play for Patriot's glory. I made the other half of the package last night and followed the recipe but cut the time down to 35 minutes. I also put 8 of these little guy on long wooden picks, easier to turn, just slide the off when done and serve with toothpicks on the side. I might add that cutting the time down my bacon was still crispy. I know my oven is calibrated correctly because I have no problem with other recipes. Much better the second time around, I skipped the sauce too and didn't miss it at all. This is a real keeper appetizer, especially since it can be made ahead of time and baked before guest even arrive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
It's great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States