Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
These were delicious, great for make ahead app
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
These are so easy to make. Everyone loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
looks good hav to try it sometime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Awesome! A little putsy to put together, but the fact they were gone in no time made it worthwhile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Bobke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I have cooked these several times, took em to church took bout 50 the first time, the second time took more when I took them to the table people were grabbing them off the plate. Had a gang here at my house smokies in the oven burgers on the grill,I burnt the smokies, they still ate em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I make these in a different way. I use hot dogs instead of little smokies. I cut the bacon in 3 pieces and the hot dogs in 3 pieces. Simply wrap the bacon around the hot dogs and secure with a toothpick. Then I layer them in a crock pot, a layer of brown sugar and a layer of the hot dogs. I add additional brown sugar on top and cook on high for about 3 hours. You will need to carefully stir them as they cook. I usually add more sugar as the cook down and use a turkey baster to suck up the liquid that accumulates in the bottom of the crock pot, if not the hot dogs will swell up from absorbing the liquid. I find this to be the easiest and less messy way to make these. Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
So delicious! These are now requested at all our large family gatherings and 1 batch is not anywhere near enough. We call these "crack weenies" because, well....try them and you'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Disappointed in myself. Should of watched the video on how to make this recipe. I short changed my family by not putting enough sugar on top. Next time I'll make sure to add plenty of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This recipe resulted in a very salty, very strong flavor. The brown sugar wasn't enough to hide the strong personalities of the bacon, and the sausage. I substituted the smokies for Hillshire Farm original breakfast sausages, and I found that they were really strong. I made these for the big game, but I could only eat one of them. The men at the party couldn't love them more, but those of us with a more delicate palate might find the flavor too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Assonet, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
these were awesome a were a big hit at a super bowl party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States