Brown Sugar Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Made these for a Super Bowl party and they were just as good as everyone said. We baked them at 375 degrees for 25 minutes. We sprinkled the brown sugar pretty generously. We baked them on a bakers half sheet pan lined with foil and used a rack to allow the grease to drip away from our bacon wrapped bundles of yumminess. We were lazy, so we didn't flip them at all. They came out fine and clean up was minimal. We also made the mayo and chili sauce dip that was mentioned in a previous review. We added a generous squirt of sriracha to give it a little snap. We couldn't turn them out fast enough. These were definitely the stars of the half-time show!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Schaffner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Easy and simple! I could have done even more brown sugar - don't think I went with the full amount, but they turned out delicious nonetheless. I wound up cooking for about 25 minutes, removing the grease from the ban and cooking for another 25 minutes or so. would definitely recommend using a rack to make sure your bacon stays crispy and doesn't cook in grease! great recipe and very simple - only 3 ingredients!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Waaay to sweet for me, and my husband never went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I add garlic powder & onion powder & cook them at 325 degrees until the sugar is melted & bacon is crimping up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I found this recipe on the last page of Allrecipes magazine last week, I must live a sheltered life because I had never heard of this recipe before. Following the recipe in the magazine, baking for almost an hour, mine turned out way over done, almost burned. My husband however eats everything and ate the whole batch while watching Brady play for Patriot's glory. I made the other half of the package last night and followed the recipe but cut the time down to 35 minutes. I also put 8 of these little guy on long wooden picks, easier to turn, just slide the off when done and serve with toothpicks on the side. I might add that cutting the time down my bacon was still crispy. I know my oven is calibrated correctly because I have no problem with other recipes. Much better the second time around, I skipped the sauce too and didn't miss it at all. This is a real keeper appetizer, especially since it can be made ahead of time and baked before guest even arrive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
It's great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
The best thing I've ever put in my mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Solis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Made exactly as written. I had tried a version at a party the week before, which were fabulous! Just figured this was the same recipe. Not. To get the bacon crispy enough, it burned the sugar. They were not great. I asked her today for her recipe, and for 1 lb of bacon and smokies, she uses 2 cups of brown sugar and 1 stick of melted butter. OK, now this is sounding good! My sons will be in heaven w/ bacon, brown sugar, smokies AND butter. Yes, I know this is not healthy, but that is not the issue here. Mix the butter w/ 1 cup of sugar and pour over wrapped smokies. Sprinkle the rest of the sugar over all. I can also see how some suggestions to make ahead and let marinate would work. The sugar would most likely melt more. Ours were too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I made these for an appetizer for my family Christmas this year-gone in the first 15 minutes...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Fantastic For Parties. Love 'Em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States