Brown Sugar Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I found the dough too crumbly and with a second batch only used 2 cups of flour. I rolled the dough in about 2 inch sausages and put it in the fridge for 2 hours, then cut the dough in 1/4 inch thick cookies. They came out perfectly and melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
this is so easy a baby can do it. its fun & i made shapes lol, & its very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I found that using 2 cups of flour is better the dough isan't as dry and easier to work with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
being lazy and impatient i tried a dozen in the toaster oven immediately: small spoonfuls droped, 15 minutes. Addictive with or without nuts. used half butter/marg. and like they said a little less flour. love that they can be baked to chewy or crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Mrs. Evelyn Paradies says this recipe is ever so wonderful. Of course it can seem like a greasy candy, however, if you don't eat half of the cookie dough before baking, the recipe will come out just right and you will be so very pleaed. My husband has gained 14 pounds last month as he has simply enjoyed these cookies more than his regular apple dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I followed other reviewers suggestions and the cookies came out perfectly. I only used 2C flour and I used light brown sugar and cooked at 300 degrees for 20 minutes. After cooling for a minute or two the cookies have a great crunch. Warning they are very addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
These were awesome!! I had no problems with my dough being crumbly and I used the full 2 1/2 cups of flour...maybe has something to do with me being in hot, humid Florida. I made the dough the night before and formed it into a square. When I got it out of the fridge today I let it sit a while then I used it like slice cookies and just sliced strips of dough off, worked great!! I hate getting out my rolling pin if I don't have to. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This cookies were the most talked about with my friends and family! I followed the directions exactly but found that the dough was too dry so i added a little milk to moisten it up and it seemed to work. I also kept them in the oven a little longer because they weren't quite done. Other than that, they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made this recipe using 2 cups of flour and imported Irish butter. The dough was crumbly. I placed the dough in plastic wrap and formed a log and placed it in the refrigerator over night. When I took the dough out of the fridge, it was as hard as a brick! But I let it sit out for five minutes and it was soft enough to slice. Baked for 18 minutes and let cool. They were so good. And very easy to make. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These are really quite good, easy to make and work with, and a well-received gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States